Can I flash a (Dell) Nvidia GeForce 6800gto to something else. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2006, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Can I flash a (Dell) Nvidia GeForce 6800gto to something else.

I had another thread about how I can't get a Nvidia Geforce 6800gto (Dell version of the gt but with only 12 pipelines) to work. Some people have said that it could be because its a Dell part. If I flashed it to something like a 6800gs or something would that fix that problem?
Where could I find a good write up on how to do that?
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You wouldn't be able to flash it to a 6800GS because a GS only had 12 pipelines. You could overclock it, because I don't think 6800GT's can be flashed to anything higher.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 11:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

a 6800gto only has 12 pipelines also. Thats why I figured I would try and flash it to a gs. But I just relized that a GS is a AGP card only.

So is there a PCI-E 6800 with 12 pipelines?
dario03 is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 07:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Yes, there is.

There's no such thing as the 6800GTO. It goes 6800XT 6800 6800GS 6800GT 6800Ultra
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 12:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ridlyn
There's no such thing as the 6800GTO.
Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
6800gto (Dell version of the gt but with only 12 pipelines)
Its from dell. They put it in their old higher end systems. Its actually based off a quadro with 4 pipes and 1 vertex shader disabled.
dario03 is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
a 6800gto only has 12 pipelines also. Thats why I figured I would try and flash it to a gs. But I just relized that a GS is a AGP card only.

So is there a PCI-E 6800 with 12 pipelines?
A GS isn't only AGP, it's PCI-e aswell. A 6800GT has 16 pipelines.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I, just never heard of it being called 6800gto.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 02:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

he is saying it is a dell OEM card. of course you haven't heard of it.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.