can i build a rig like how id play with legos? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2005, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 159
Default can i build a rig like how id play with legos?

hey i just ordered all my parts from newegg and its all here. im going through everything and reading the manuals and im not a comp tech...i mean this mobo manual..damnnn. it looks easy enough, i see where everything goes and from what ive heard everything is pretty much already ready to go with the defaults and stuff. do u think its alright to just go at it like a new bag of legos?
-please excuse this mass of ignorance.

this is what im working with btw-

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16813136152
$135

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice Integrated into Chip FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819103535
$199

-Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail -RAM
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProdu...-145-450&depa=1
$115.00

M-AUDIO US99120 8 (7.1) Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829121101
$92

Leadtek PX6800GT TDH Geforce 6800GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI-Express x16 Video Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122209
$365.00

XCLIO XClio-jr CS428BK Silver/Black Computer Case With Side Panel Window - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811201003
$40.49

Antec 480 watt 120mm fan ATX 12V v2.0 power supply, Active PFC, Model "NeoPower" - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103924
$116.00

Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600JD 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144152
$87x2

NEC FD1231H-302 Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16821152005
$7.99
__________________

__________________
emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, for none but ourselves can free our minds.
c4sTr0 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I only quickly looked at everything, because I have to go, but I'll tell you this... it is easy if you know what you're doing.

By that I don't mean you have to be a pro. I just simply mean that for some people (who simply know how to turn on a computer and that's it) it could be hard. However, if you read the manual, you should be more than fine. It is like legos in a sense of "this brick has four pegs, so I need to find a square brick to put on top of it that has four pegs also." You just make sure everything matches up. If the case is ATX, make sure the motherboard is ATX. If the motherboard is socket 939, make sure the processor is (which, by quickly glancing, I think you did that fine). It is simple to put it together once you get the pieces... it only really goes in one way.

You shouldn't have too much trouble at all... I wouldn't think so anyway.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

if the cpu doesnt just settle in its not in the right way
you shouldnt need any force to put it in just drops in

make sure you use thermal paste on the cpu and cpu heatsink and fan
read the mobo maanual it tells you where all the front leds plug into
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 07:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 159
Default

exelent advise wayniac thx,
yea everything is compatible via sockets and such, this forum pretty much gave me this list. so should i just screw in the cpu, mount up the mobo, and then put in the cards?
and then put in all my drives with the ide cables?
thats what im thinking about doing when i say legos. at this point thats what im going to do, but do i have to worry much about voltages and master and slave jumpers? or is everything already placed pretty well in default.

thanks alot for any suggestions
__________________
emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, for none but ourselves can free our minds.
c4sTr0 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 159
Default

whats "leds"? and is the thermal paste reeeaaallllyyy needed?
__________________
emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, for none but ourselves can free our minds.
c4sTr0 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 07:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

leds are the lights on the front of the box, they have specific places on the mobo to plug in. And yes use the thermal paste, the cooler the processor runs the happier you will be.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 08:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
so should i just screw in the cpu, mount up the mobo, and then put in the cards?
You shouldn't have to screw in the cpu... no. You screw the mobo into the case, but as for the cpu, there should be a lever. Make sure it is up, drop the cpu into the socket and it should EASILY go in. You should have to use no force at all. When it is in, move the lever down to fasten it in place.
Quote:
is the thermal paste reeeaaallllyyy needed?
As for thermal gel, yes you need it. It fills small cracks and holes where the cpu does not make direct contact with the heatsink. This makes for much better heat transfer and it makes sure that for the most part, the heat gets AWAY from the cpu.
Quote:
but do i have to worry much about voltages and master and slave jumpers?
As for your voltage concern... you shouldn't have any worries there. The motherboard should already be mostly set up and you should be fine. As for jumpers, yes, you'll have to find where to put them for master (and slave if you have more than one). Shouldn't worry about it though... I think the book tells what to do.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

you may need an adapter for your power supply, being as the DFI boards require 24-pin Power supplies and most are 20 pin.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 09:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by c4sTr0
whats "leds"?
If your talking about the Leds for the DFI mobo, There are 4 leds on the bottom left of your board, When you sett up everything they will count down 4,3,2,1. The last Led will stay on until you boot into Windows. If any of the before 1, stays on then sumthing isnt seated right, or faulty. And the number of the led will help you figure out whats wrong.
__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 10:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Those are some very very good parts. Who told you to buy them? TF? Word...

LED: Light Emiting Diode. Status lights on the front of your case, there just to tell you what is on. May habve been already said, I'm just maging sure.

Like Wayne said, you do need thermal paste. It is CRITICAL! Use only the size of about a grain of rice on the middle of the CPU. The CPU goes into a socket called a ZIF socket. ZIF stands for Zero Insertion Force. You should just be able to gently place it on the socket and it will fll right into place. no force is needed, NONE! Do NOT attempt for force it in. If it is not going in, it is either not lined up right or going in the wrong way.

Go into your motherboard book to tell you where to plug the LED jumpers in. It's very easy. Need any help, just ask.

I was thinking of making a step by step tutorial of how to build a computer when I put together my new computer, just to help out pelpe like this guy. Complete with pictures and stuff, I think it would help some people out. What you all think of that idea?
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.