Cable Modding - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to brianm8000
Default Cable Modding

I am looking for something to replace thoes grey thin and wide cables that connect the motherboard to my floppy drive and my CD-RW/DVD-RW drive.

Any ideas?
__________________

brianm8000 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

round ide cables and round floppy cable
__________________

__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 03:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to brianm8000
Default

whats ide stand for, and where can i get thoes?
brianm8000 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

for like $20 at most computer stores, heck i think they even have them at radio shack or do like i did for a friends computer, made careful slices on those gray ribbon cables and then bundle them making your own round cables.

tutorial how to make your own:

http://www.tech-heaven.com/forum/sho...665#post248665

compliments Holocron
jaksback is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to brianm8000
Default

When i remove these cables from the 2 drives, and ut them back, or put new rounded cables on them, do i have to reinstall anything, or will they act as if they were not even disconnected?
brianm8000 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

no reinstalling of anything, just make sure you have all power disconnected from the pc.
jaksback is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to brianm8000
Default

ok, thanks bud.
__________________

brianm8000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.