Cable Management - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2008, 08:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Cable Management

Cany anyone tell me what kind of calble management items I will need to purchase to keep my case tidy.

I know of cable zip ties, but what else is good to use?

Ive seen pictures of something that looks like a kind of plastic clamp that is attached to the side of case/metal part of case and holds the wiring. What are these? And where can I get them ? (UK)
__________________

Method is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Cable Management

And i'd love to know in Canada.... Mines uly that i won't even post a pic...
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 12:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Cable Management

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
And i'd love to know in Canada.... Mines uly that i won't even post a pic...
The antec 900 case is a hard one to manage with the PSU being at the bottom of the case and all. I drilled a couple of 2-3" holes. One right next to PSU to route all the power cables through and then a couple under the MB to route some other stuff. You can then tape the cables down on the back side of the metal panel and put the cover over it rather easily... Here's what mine looks like inside..

Just trying to give ideas...

__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Cable Management

Don't know the UK but do a search for a local electrical supply store and they will have a number of items on how to manger wires.

I know the item your talking about, it has a double sided adhesive so it sticks to your case wall and allows a zip tie through either vertically or horizontally. Handy little things.

patonb, in the GTA I use Sayal: SAYAL Electronics - Your Source For New And Surplus Electronic Components - We Buy Your Surplus!

They have a page on wire management but that is only a few of the dozens of solutions they have in store. If you live in the Toronto area they have a number of stores, otherwise any decent electrical supply and even some of the larger hardware stores (Home depot, rona, lowes) carry basic wire management options in their electrical sections.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Cable Management

Wow that is clean.. I'm about to drill the case by the psu. Oh, and remove the HD fan bracket.. Didn't know what it was for so I left it... oops.

JFenwick... I'm in Ottawa, so i bet theres a few spots... Sorta new here so, not to familiar with stores.

Thanks alot... hopefully Method can use the info too.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 10:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Cable Management

cable ties, electrical tape, heat shrink wrap, extension cables, right angle sata cables...there are other various things but i don't use them/.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 10:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Cable Management

Well, I would pretty much use cable ties and zip ties for places near the motherboard but for the behind, some electrical tape and zip ties would do.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 11:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Cable Management

^yes, use electrical tape when it won't be seen, as it is fugly.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 11:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Cable Management

What SATA power cables do you's use?

I hate the look of the stock plugs.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 11:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Cable Management

^i have a 620hz so everything is black and looks great, but you could buy different heads for the sata power cables for cheap, like uv red ones, or uv blue ones, or just plain black ones, perhaps even led ones.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A patch cable with 2 switched wires is the only way a connection can be made... ?? Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-12-2008 05:28 PM
Australia to get a new submarine cable Harper SEO and Web Traffic 4 04-14-2008 10:30 AM
cable management... advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 3 11-12-2007 02:00 PM
Cable Management. sadisticmidget Overclocking and Modding 9 08-11-2007 03:29 PM
answer me this.. LAN cable DOESNT WORK with certain PCs. clever_j Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-26-2007 01:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.