A button pressed and the computer receive the signal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default A button pressed and the computer receive the signal?

Hey,
Is there anyway that I can use the parallel port so that I can press a button and the computer received the signal that the button was pressed? Or is there any other way than the parallel port?
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 11:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'm sorry, what signal? i don't quite understand your post. what purpose do you wish this button to serve?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 12:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Well I just want like if I press a button that I could plug into parallel, serial, USB, anything. I want to do a case modding and I want to have a button on the front that with any program that can access the port I can get that the button is pressed.
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 10:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry i still don't quite follow you. i figure you would want to program it so that programs perform a particular function when you press it. sorry i don't know of anything like this that is available. one could probably be made but you would have to be pretty good at programming because you would have to design software for it to work
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 10:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

there are programmable buttons on keyboards.....
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
there are programmable buttons on keyboards.....
Not on mine :P Well, if for example, I want a button on the front of my case that will skip my winamp song, is there anyway that I can do that? I don't care if it's the parallel port or not.
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Why not buy a remote?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 03:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

God... you don't understand my point? And I have a remote but I don't care! I want a button! I just want a button that I can program!!
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 07:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to andy345
Default

Do you mean using something like a momentary button hooked into a parallel port or serial port? Then when you push the button it will do what you want
andy345 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 09:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

You could allways learn C+ or something similar and learn what is what on the parallel porn and make several switchs that hook into it and make a program that will do what you need the buttons to do....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.