burn-in debate - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 07:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol i think we should have a burn in comp forum wide :P see who can get the best speed:voltage ratio.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:14 AM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I currently have 1,58GHz w/ 1,775v. I can run at 1,62GHz w/ 1,800 but its getting more bluescreens the longer I run it at that speed, so yesterday I set it to 1,58GHz.
Default is 1,4GHz w/ 1,750v
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 09:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

wow no-one else?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

What I did was let it run stock everything for a week, shutting down the computer every time I walked away from it. This allowed it to heat up and cool down over 21 times during the week. You're supposed to let everything break in, and then you'll have it prepared better for overclocking. Just send gaara a PM and he'll answer you. He actually knows WHY we burn them in. He said it once, and it made sense. I just can't regurgitate it.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol. that makes sense, good point about turning it on and off. i still like my method but that does include turning it on and off frequently too i just didn't think to mention it. my mother is freaking militant about saving electricity so i don't get much choice in leaving it on. most of all i just want to see what different people do around the forum and the sort of results they get. i was expecting gaara to post too
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 10:11 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
lol i think we should have a burn in comp forum wide :P see who can get the best speed:voltage ratio.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...lity/vcore.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...ity/vcore2.jpg

Those are just rough estimates based on the potential this has demonstrated thusfar...core1 is rather weak however and core0 shows potential of hitting 2.6ish with no vcore change

Burning in is not neccesary and there's nothing wrong with overclocking right away...generally what you might notice is you might initially reach a limit but then try again a week later or so and find that you can squeeze a little bit more out of it

If you're talking about burning in, in almost all situations burning in at stock speeds is useless and you can base this on your stepping...either your core has been binned and stressed at the specified speeds already OR your core got really lax binning in which case you probably have a lot of headroom with stock vcore to bump up the speeds as I demonstrated above

So yeah, IMO you should determine how good your stepping is...if you find it is a highly acclaimed stepping you should bump up clock frequencies as high as stock vcore will take them and THEN start burning in...burning-in is often widely confused with allowing thermal compound to settle, in which case after a week or so it should drop your temperatures a few degrees and possibly allow a higher clock

So there are too many variables to determine if stressing a core increases its threshold...I would personally say yes, but at the same time overclocking out of the box isn't going to have any effect on decreasing that threshold

And FYI the results you see above are from overclocking a core out of the box...I really pretty knew what to expect though based on the stepping though
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:07 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

gaara wins lol . i've noticed quite a lot of people reporting core1 as weak, i think mine is too. just seems like a pattern is all.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.