bunch of questions on 7900GT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2006, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 42
Default bunch of questions on 7900GT

I plan to overclock my Nvidia 7900GT but I have a few questions. I have read all of the guides yet I still have questions.
My plan is to get my video card to the factory overclocked speeds of
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130033

or if possible

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130016

Will I have to volt mod my 7900GT to reach these levels? Or can I just adjust the speeds useing coolbits?

What temperatures should I aim for? And do the temperatures measured need to be that of the motherboard?

What is the #1 way I can tell if I overclocked my card to far?

Thanks in advance
__________________

Xarulsis is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

You will not have to voltmod your GPU to reach ~550mhz, anything above 600-800mhz you would want to voltmod your GPU 1.4-1.55V.

Your temperature should be roughly under 80C, but up to 100C is fine, aftermarket heatsink if recommended if you are volt modding.

#1 way to tell if your video card is overclocked to far, is play your favorite game for a few hours, run 3dmark, or use ATITOOL artifact scanner.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 42
Default

WOW! Thanks for the quick response, and answering my questions!
Xarulsis is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 04:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

I took my 7900GT, using stock voltages, from its stock, 450/600 to 560/800. they wont go any higher than that.

i am still on the stock cooler, as i decided it is enough already, and i am not going to voltmod. i used to load at 80*C, but now i have balanced a 120mm fan on top of the stock cooler, blowing down into it, and around it, onto the memory. it now loads at 67*C.
joshd is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 06:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

smart...
much cheaper and probebly easier than aftermarket cooling
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

wow 80c huh, mine is at 520, bfg tech, stock 475

running at 57c, hah!

well it is watercooled didnt think it worked good though, mounting bracket never fits it snug
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

use ATI Tool, not Coolbits. for some reason, coolbits tends to be less stable.

if you want to voltmod, I've made a guide to do it:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=116776

to get past 550MHZ, you usually have to voltmod.

I recommend not going above 1.4V unless you have aftermarket cooling.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Might I suggest a bit of caution when overclocking the 7900GT, as some memory problems seem to be creeping up. Supposedly the Samsung memory doesn't quite like running at such high speeds, with the Infineon memory more keen to do so. Take off the heatsink to see what VRAM you have before proceeding.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 01:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

You could just get an eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked, then you wouldn't have to voltmod it as they come stock at 1.5v.
The General is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
use ATI Tool, not Coolbits. for some reason, coolbits tends to be less stable.

if you want to voltmod, I've made a guide to do it:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=116776

to get past 550MHZ, you usually have to voltmod.

I recommend not going above 1.4V unless you have aftermarket cooling.

I got to 594 before I had to volt mod mine


Yes I agree aftermarket cooler will save you lots of trouble.

Quote:
Originally posted by the general
You could just get an eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked, then you wouldn't have to voltmod it as they come stock at 1.5v.

Thats no fun
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.