bulding a pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2004, 03:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973

how much are you looking to spend?....have you puchased any of the items yet?

NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
Saphire 9800 Pro

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.

<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 12:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13

i have not purchaced any of the parts yet. the total price of the computer now is 389.99 with a 2.40 GHz celeron.

i do not want to spend much more than what i have now.

what would be a good p4 to get?

i probly dont want to spend much more then 450.

big jeff is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 03:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

you can easily get a system twice as good by switching to AMD XP processor and mobo. a celeron or duron is pure trash, it sounds like you are not willing to change though. maybe you are a diehard intel fan.

here are two complete computer suystem i can recommend to you for around $400 each. you can remove items and customize items to make it even cheaper. you do not have to build anything:

Gamer Xtreme 5000 SE $439:

AMD Value 1000 Home $415:
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 06:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 62

I have played several new games on my 1 1/2 year old computer with a 2.6 GHZ celeron, INTEL motherboard with a 845GV chipset and it works fine, not one problem.
The graphic card market play's a huge role in gaming today. Pick and choose a graphic card wisely here, they are ever expanding, and compitition is HOT. It feels like there is a better one on the market ever month. Don't get me wrong though, a computer 2 years ago ment for gaming, will have a hard time playing the graphic rich games of today, but it's not that they won't!! it just might be not as fast or as stable. Today's Graphic cards are the gate keepers and hold all the keys too unlocking a computers gaming capabilities.
I would strongly suggest spending the money on a very good motherboard which has a top of the line CHIPSET, and has the capabilties to be upgradeable later, so you can keep up with the times as much as possiable. But get ready, who knows what there will be as far as hardware and software goes, that pride and joy of a machine you just built, a year from now, I hate to say it, will be out of date. So get the best you can now, so it won't be so bad later. Your flip side to the reality side. Newt
A test to which no one knows
Jnewt427 is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 10:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 14

you said your going to be running autocad and if then i would get a better proccessor/memory. the processor should be a athlon 2500+ MOBILE. i stress get a mobile. unbelievable overclocking capabilities with even air cooling (i have reached 2.7 ghz with a slk-947u hsf at 1.8v with would be equalto about a 4 ghz pentium). only 100 bucks. get like a ABIT nf7-s v2.0 or some sort of DFI Lanparty mobo. the bare minimum for memory is 512 for gaming. you'll like the preformance much better. also if your going athlon dont bother getting dual channel because there is no performance increase from single to dual channel with an athlon system. maybe brand name memory if you can afford it. try to find a 9500 pro. for average and even some hardcore gaming (maybe not DOOM 3) it is an extremely good card when even slightly oc'ed.
toddrm2k3 is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 05:35 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116

Also i have heard that Celerons, do not work that well with Celeron processors. If you want linux, try another processor, maybe Intel 2.6 Ghz with HT. Or a AMD processor
Walking in the dark
Meck is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 02:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13

where can i get doom 2 or cna it be downloaded?

i am not a dihard intel fan but i have not really used athalons before. all the computer i use and have had have had intel peniums or celerons. now my parents first computer they bought was an hp with an althalon in it.

i will see where i can get the best combos with an atholon.

big jeff is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.