Built New PC but problems please Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2005, 10:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default Built New PC but problems please Help

Before it start heres the Basic specs of it

Epox - EP-8k9AI motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 1800
Maxtor 80 GB HD
350W PSU
512mb DDR pc2700 RAM

And a Questionable - Link 3D Geforce FX 5200 128mb AGP TV Graphics card.

My problem is that monitor won't come out of stand by on booting
, everything else seems to be working, the harddrive processor and graphics fans all power on which sounds normal. but another is that all the keyboard lights all up and stay on when trying to boot aswell and if u turn it off from the front switch they're still lit (HUM) but my main concern is why the monitor ain't switching on.
i think now it may be a compatability issue with the graphics card but am no expert thats why i need a push in the right direction.

Am thinking the graphics card i have ain't the right type for my board. I've typed the specs of the board and graphics below.
Am i little confused about AGP slots. and my board dosen't have on board graphics so thats a bugger.

Board Supports
AGP 3.0 interface with 8X 4X 2X @ 1.5v only
Supports Maximum bandwidth of 2.1GB/s

Geforce FX 5200

Back of the Box States Minimum System Requirments:

IBM PC or IBM Comaptible System
Intel pentium 2/3/4
AMD K6/K7 CPU or higher
Availible AGP 2.0 or 3.0 slot
SVGA Monitor

Heres pics of the Board and G/Card






So do you think thid is my my problem. Thanks in advance for any help that forcomes.

Kevin.
__________________

KevBhoy is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Is their power to the video card?
__________________

__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 12:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JDGreen92086
Is their power to the video card?
Obveously not, look at the picture.


Have you got a speaker plugged into your motherboard so you can here POST Beep Code Errors? That should help debug some of the problems. If you do, post the beep patterns.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 12:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Ummm..... thats a pic of the individual parts... not inside his pc... lol
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 01:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Okay, thats the same card used in his PC...

I don't know why the hell I have to argue with you.

Answer: NO, a 5200 will never require power, don't think any 5 series does.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 01:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Did you uninstall previous drivers? Also, I'm pretty sure that your card is compatible with your mobo, as if it weren't, your card would fry.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 07:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Hi there is no system bleeps at all, as i say this the first time it's been powered up.
I disconected all other hardware so that only the harddrive processor and video card and keyboard where being powered on, still the same.
also removed the ram to see if i get any bleeps but none at all.
cleared the CMOS , no change

but there is a 2 pin connector on the graphics card any idea what that s for?

Cheers
__________________

KevBhoy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.