Built Comp, Now What? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2005, 03:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
TDK
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default Built Comp, Now What?

I built my entire comp last night, hooked everything up and everything. Now what do I do... I know I have to turn it on and make sure everything works and then setup the BIOS correct? After that what do I do? Install the software that game with the motherboard? Install the software that came with the CD-ROM? Install the software that came with the Floppy? Install the software that came with the hardrive (partition and format)? Install the OS? Damn, could someone please walk me through the order in which I need to do things in order for it to put me on my desktop so I can begin with a new comp? I am going to be running Window XP Home Edition, if anyone needed that. Thanks!
__________________

TDK is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
TDK
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

?
__________________

TDK is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Turn on your machine, set the BIOS to boot from CD

Insert your Windows Disc and reboot.

Install windows

Install Graphics drivers

Install whatever else

Game till you drop.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
TDK
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

nice thank you

before i install the graphics card card (like the first time i turn on the computer) can i have my monitor hooked to it or does the monitor need to be hooked to the mother board?
TDK is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

You put the monitor directly on your graphics card, the one on your mobo will be disabled when it detects a card.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
TDK
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

roger that thanks
TDK is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
TDK
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

wait, but the drivers for the CD-ROM don't have to be installed for it to install the OS?
TDK is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Nope when windows starts to copy drivers to a location in order to install itself some basic disc drivers are used.

Don't worry, it will all work.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

no that is plu & play
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 05:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
TDK
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

thanks guys
__________________

TDK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.