Building P4 gaming system -- myriad of questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 12:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Default

OK, this might be a stupid question, but would the AMD board and CPU combo be more, or less user friendly than the intel setup i have listed, as far as setup and tweaking? I ask because this will be my first build ever.

Also, and I know it's not rational, but I feel so much more comfortable with Intel. I don't mind sacrificing a little speed for that added security (knowing full well that "security" might be a bogus feeling based on marketing). I'll definitely look at the equipment you linked to and give it some thought, but I suspect that I'm gonna end up with a P4 system anyway. Assuming that happens, does my system seem alright?

Also, as far as the 6600GT, looks like I might have to go with it. I'm a little bummed, because the radeon card I like has the tv tuner and HL2 -- both things I'm probably gonna get regardless at some point in the near future -- and the price wasn't bad considering that.
__________________

crud_tud is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 12:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

The system you listed will work... I am the complete opposite, I don't feel comfortable with Intels. I believe that AMD is more user friendly when it coems to building. Overclocking is pretty easy as well.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 01:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

The setup is fine but the 'comes with HL2' part means that it comes with a key to unlock it in Steam. That means that you will have to download HL2 through Steam inorder to play it. So you might want to consider getting this vid card (Chaintech nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT $225.00 http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-107&depa=0) and buying HL2
Richard is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 01:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Default

I don't mind downloading HL2 onto my computer as long as it still means I'm getting the full game for free (or at least included in the price of the video card). However, it seems that the 6600GT card is indeed a better choice for the system. I can do without the tv tuner and can pony up the $ for HL2 (and get the actual CD in the retail box).

Thanks for the OK on my system. I tried as best as I could to pick compatible parts -- and it really isn't difficult I guess -- but being new to this you get paranoid that you're misinterpreting this or forgetting to include that.
crud_tud is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 01:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Richard, I did a quick search on all the different brands using 6600GT on newegg, including this one for $189.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...140-047&depa=1

Is the $225 chaintech model you reccomended of better quality or a more reliable brand?
crud_tud is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 02:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

The one you just linked is PCI-Express which your motherboard doesn't support. The 6600GT I linked, which is agp, is the best brand right now that has one out.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 02:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Oops! Stupid mistake on my part. Thanks for catching it.
crud_tud is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 04:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Default OK, about to pull the trigger!

OK, I decided to go with the Radeon AIW 9800 PRO (bundled with HL2 free download coupon) because it's a good deal and probably all the graphics firepower I need. With that decided, can someone take a look at what I hope is my final configuration?

Mobo: Asus P4P800 SE Retail -- $96
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-484&depa=0

CPU: Intel Prescott P4 3.0GHz with 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache and Hyperthreading Retail --$188
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-171&depa=0

Memory: Corsair Value Select 2x512MB DDR PC-3200 OEM -- $141.27
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...145-440&depa=0

Video Card: ATI AIW Radeon 9800 Pro Retail -- $254
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-454&depa=1

Hard Disk: Hitachi 80GB 7,200RPM SATA OEM -- $59
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-049&depa=0

Multi-Burner: NEC ND-3500A OEM -- $65.99
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...152-029&depa=0

Floppy: NEC 2.5" floppy OEM -- $7
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...152-005&depa=0

Case: Antec SLK1650B ATX MiniTower with 350W PSU Retail -- $59.50
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...129-150&depa=0

Keyboard: Logitech Keyboard & Mouse OEM -- $19.50
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...126-152&depa=0

Hopefully this is the last time, but could someone give me an OK on this? I tried to check out each component as best I could and read every review I could find for each of them, but I'm still worried that I'm getting something wrong. Also, a number of the components are OEM. Should I worry about that?

I'd like to pull the trigger on this by tomorrow morning. Maybe I'll do it this afternoon just to get it over with!
crud_tud is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 04:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Forgot to add, are there any needed accessories/special tools that I should consider ordering from newegg as well? I have a variety of screwdrivers on hand and plan on buying an anti-static wrist band from radio shack just to be safe. Do I need to buy any thermal paste? Thanks.
crud_tud is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 07:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Looks good, but it wont be as fast and of the same quality as the system I suggested . OEM means it will only come with the drive or whatever it is; no cables or extras included like screws I believe. Like you will need an ATA133 cable (dual device)... and a floppy cable. Maybe some jumpers as well.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.