Building a new pc :) Just need some advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2004, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Default Building a new pc :) Just need some advice

Im building another new pc up and want some advice on what hardware components to get.

The case i have ordered is an Antec Aria Micro ATX Cube Case - 300W PSU (CA-021-AN)

The Motherboard that I have ordered is a FoxConn NF4K8MA-KS nForce4 Micro ATX (Socket 939) Motherboard (MB-000-FC)

Both ordered from

What advice I now need is

What Graphics card to get.. At the moment my eyes are on the Asus Extreme N6600GT GeForce PCX6600 GT 128MB DDR3 TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-055-AS)

Im looking to spend no more than £150 on graphics card if possible. Also I currently have a Radeon 9600 128mb pro AGP. Will this work with my new motherboard. I dont think it will but just wanna check.

What AMD CPU should i get. I really wanna blow most my student loan on a 3500xp 64 winchester, but my mate is saying the 3000xp 64 has excellent reviews, and its cheaper and can be overclocked well. Does it have to be socket 939 aswell to support my motherboard as i have a 2800xp normal processor at the moment. Will it work in my new motherboard

Random Access Memory, Looking for 1 gig of nice fast ram Currently got my eyes on GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS2.5 (GE1GB3200BHDC) (MY-005-GL)

My mate says this will work fine with my pc and its ment to be really good.

Harddrives arent a problem. I usually stick to WD or Maxtor and have had no problems.

Just so many pc hardware i cant keep up with all the new technology and what it does.

Thanks in advance for Replys


TidyKeefus is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435

you will need a amd64 939 with your motheboard. You 2800xp wont fit. Im building soon and im getting a Amd64 3000+ skt 939, it seems good and i dont think its necasary to get the 3500+

The 6600gt is supposed to be a good card although its only 128mb its DDR3.I think your radeon should work too if its AGP and your motherboard supports AGP.

chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 06:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

If u wanna OC then get the 3200 on stock cooling on a test bench they can get to 3800 speeds and thats a poor oc for them. a lot of people have easelly supparsed that with stock
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.