Building A New PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 04:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default

An AGP mobo, and a PCI-Express card?

Go for this if you want that video card:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813128283

The new cards are coming in PCI Express only, so I suggest you go for this motherboard, also thats a very good video card. The case is pretty good, and the PSU would do just fine. Also the processor is a beast for the buck, and its a 90nm so it runs cooler. The Corsair is good too, all in all its good, but buy this mobo

Good Luck!
__________________

PapoJR is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

thank you for all of the input! i will be ordering everything within the next few days. anything else i should know/consider?

new, current list:
----------------------------
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-K8N Ultra-9
Case: Thermaltake Soprano (Black)
Card: eVGA 256-P2-N376-AX Geforce 6800GT
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
RAM: CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB)
HD: Western Digital Caviar SE WD3000JD 300GB
Burner: LITE-ON Black DVD Burner
----------------------------

what os would be better for a 64bit cpu? windows server 2003? what would be the difference. i dont think the whole 32bit os on a 64bit cpu bothers me as much.
__________________

s17ence is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 07:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

so everything on that list is good to go? i just need some sort of definite answer so i can get on with the ordering process.
s17ence is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 08:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

They make SATA "like" round cables for IDE hard drives now.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 03:24 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

?
s17ence is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

should i stay with that list of parts, or should i get the dfi lanparty mobo with the ocz gold series ram?
s17ence is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 11:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

because my current cpu is overclocked, but i didn't really do it myself last time. i had someone helping me and telling me what to do in the bios.
s17ence is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 08:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

so would the dfi mobo with the ocz ram be a better choice??
s17ence is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 10:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Im building a computer too and thats the same graphics card im getting
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 10:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

yea it looks nice
__________________

s17ence is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.