building a new computer, want it to be a BEAST! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2003, 05:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default

I'm gonna agree Disciple on this one......get a mac for graphics designing
__________________

Datt is offline  
Old 02-20-2003, 02:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to Disciple
Default

i use a mac for the yearbook at my school, and it seems that it works the best! It hardly crases, is compatable with all the graphing software, well, most, and it is small... The only downside is the price, which isn't that bad, but a little pricey.
__________________

__________________
\"Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroy and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.\"
-Matthew 6:19-21
http://www.angelfire.com/al3/dennis/images/jesus9.gif
<html>
<url>http://www.hhbc.com</url>
<url>http://www.wwjd.com</url>
<url>http://www.tigerdirect.com</url>
<url>http://www.pricewatch.com</url>
</html>
Disciple is offline  
Old 02-20-2003, 06:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Heh heh, not to spoil your party, but I have crashed a Mac before.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 02-21-2003, 12:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to Disciple
Default

oh...well, that's does run my fun!!! Well anyways...lol....um....I don't know what to say now, so bye bye!
__________________
\"Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroy and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.\"
-Matthew 6:19-21
http://www.angelfire.com/al3/dennis/images/jesus9.gif
<html>
<url>http://www.hhbc.com</url>
<url>http://www.wwjd.com</url>
<url>http://www.tigerdirect.com</url>
<url>http://www.pricewatch.com</url>
</html>
Disciple is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 07:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

then go with celeron or duron, its cheaper and gets the job done
Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 10:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

what? those are both bad ideas. mac is not suitable for affordable design work because there is no way he could get a decent mac for $900 new and he would have to re-purchase both his digital painting applications for mac which would make him way overbudget,. . . . i mean he is shooting for the moon and you guys are aiming him at pluto. and the suggestion to get a celeron or duron, well. . no comment

have you guys seen mac advertisements? the way they design their equipment is too feminine and translucent for my taste. photoshop and painter obtain their performance mainly from your CPU processor not graphics card. almost any video card with 32MB or 64MB memory integrated would be good for the high resolutions you will work with for both those apps.

patton you are paying way the heck too much for that system. you have a confused sense of good pc specs from your experiences with that gateway computer. anybody here should easily spot obvious problems from the extremely small hard disk you chose and your CPU should be at least a xp2600 or greater.

and also patton you cannot just stick your pc3500 into any motherboad you like. if your board cannot take advantage of it you are wasting your money. since you do not seem to know what components you need for your specific purpose i would suggest buying prebuilts from www.ibuypower.com or cyberpowerinc.com instead of building this yourself. you will save a buttload of money to help pay for this semester.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.