building a new computer, want it to be a BEAST!

Status
Not open for further replies.

patton art

Beta member
Hello,
I decided to build a computer for myself. I don't really care too much about 3d processing, but 2d processing is very important.
I do a lot of digital painting. I need a computer that will have no problem pushing around an image with 3,000 x 5,000 pixels, multiple layers, and has no prob with photoshop and painter.
I don't play many games and don't do any 3d graphics. Though if I could get a graphics card that does 2d and 3d both good, I won't mind ;)

I have no experience building computers, but my friend has built quite a few and went to vo-tech for building them. He doesn't live REALLY close, so I'd like to get the parts together and go up to his house and do it one day.

My current funding is 1,400... though I need money for next semester in college, so I'd like to spend around 700-900. I hear pricewatch is the best place for getting parts... I think everything here came out to around 800.

I was thinking something around this:
2 ghz Athlon XP processor
2 512 MB sticks of DDR ram (that PC 3500 kind, i guess) or would one 1 gig stick be better? I mean, later on I might be able to put in ANOTHER 1 gig stick, right? 2 gigs of ram would be NICE
a 20 GB 7200 rpm hard drive (could I get any more space with the same speed around the same price?)
and then a good graphics card, which i know NOTHING about

what else will I need? I was hoping to use some parts from my old computer... like the sound card, moniter, maybe the case, etc etc. Oh yeah, I had a gateway performance 500, in case you're wondering...

Can anyone help me out here? I don't know what I need to get... I don't want to get stuff, take it to my friends house, and then find out it's totally incompatible! I have no idea of telling what works with what!

PLEASE help me here...

Here's what I was hoping to get, but again, I don't know if this is all compatible:

Processor: