Building new computer.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2005, 08:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104
Default Building new computer..

Here are my current choices for my new computer:

Motherboards - AMD-
(I'm wondering if the onboard sound will be good enough or should I buy a
Sound Card instead)


Video Cards-

Memory (System Memory)-

Hard Drives-

CD/DVD Burners (RW Drives)-

Cases (Computer Cases, ATX Form)-
(is this a decent case?)


Just wanna make sure that everything will install without any problems...if you disagree with something...say something

brylax23 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 08:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop


Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 08:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104


lol my bad..
brylax23 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233

try listing out what your specs are instead of putting links (thats what i was asked to do). just put the main points through. don't want it to get too big. Thanks.
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104


Motherboard- DFI "LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D"
Processor- AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz
Speakers- Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX
Memory- Geil Ultra Series Value Dual Channel Kit
DVD Burner-NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Case-ASPIRE X-Navigator Black/Blue ATX Mid-Tower Case
Heatsink-ZALMAN CNPS7000B-AlCu Aluminum + Copper CPU Cooler
brylax23 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296

You may want to spend a couple extra bux and get sum better ram, when i first decided to get a DFI mobo i went to and read up, alot of people have problems with "Value" Ram.

Edit heres a link:
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 10:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487

Yea could use some better ram. I heard Geil is no good.
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104

What memory from should i get..i dont wanna spend more then 150 on a gig of mem
brylax23 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104
is this good stuff???
brylax23 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

Geil, Kingmax or OCZ RAM
I would say 2 of OCZ's or Kingmax's

also, what monitor are you getting?

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.