Building new comp! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2005, 03:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Dual core isn't a waste of money and there is no such thing as future proof.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

for gaming, is there any outlook of dual cores technology being incorporated with games? If so would it be an "investment" to consider dual core for gaming or would it be better off to wait?
__________________

SuperXMega is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Better off to wait as AMD is going to go with a new socket for their upcoming dual-cores(forgot what its called, but it was posted at tomshardware a couple of months ago) and there are basically no multi-threaded games on the market cept a few free ones.
ROger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Dual core prevents your games from laggin up when you have something running in the background. That is defenetly an advantage.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

i'm still trying to figure out the mechanics of dual core technology, when they state Athlon 64 X2 4200 for example. Does that mean that each core is running at an equivalent to a pentium 4.2, or both cores combined equal 4.2??
SuperXMega is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 08:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

After 4000, its meaningless. Basically, when they say 4200, they basically mean that it is the next step up, the next best processor. I think AMD gave up naming their processors in line with their performance vs the pentiums. The 4200+ dual core will provide the same speed as a venice 3400, which is 2.2 GHz when running a single application that does not use multiple threads. However, when you are using a multiple threaded application, or running many single threaded applications at once, the 4200 will basically complete the tasks up to two times faster than the 3400. Also, if you are on a tight budget, skip the platinum rev 2s and get ocz value ram(has wv in its product number). These will give you 240FSB with 2225 at 3.3-3.4 volts, and then you can run a divider to bring clock speeds up. There is very little performance difference, and you can use the extra 60 bucks to save up for a dual core amd x2.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.