Building my first PC.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2005, 11:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default Building my first PC....

I am building my first PC. I am trying to keep it as inexpensive as possible. (<$100+case) I will mostlt use it for surfing DSL, maybe a few games.

Here is what I am thinking...

Linux OS
MGE SideWinder Shell
P3 mother board and cpu (brand?)
Seagate 200gig HD
Whatever CDRWs I cna find
The sidewinder comes with to side 80mms should I put another 120mm in the back, or an 80mm?
1gig of Ram (brand?)
Drop in a few cold cathodes
Do that make add on temp monitors?

I know I missed a few things, but i'm tired.



Thanks for any and all help,
-FOX-
__________________

FOX1911 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

what is your budget, we need to know so we can add parts
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default

(<$100+case)

Under $100 plus the price of case

I know, I'm cheap as hell.
FOX1911 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

what?! so you are saying you want a cpu, mobo, hd, ram, os,case, and drive? for under 100? thats impossible if you divide everything into a hundred everything should cost at least 14 dollars. and that is not even possible....
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default

CPU- $1 + ship
Mother board- $1 + ship
200 gig HD- $10 + ship

Nothing is impossible!

Do it ebay baby!


edit: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...162368020&rd=1
FOX1911 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

its probally used, or not working?
if it is probally working it wont work good.
u might as well save money and buy things brand new.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 12:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Click on the link I posted. It says sealed in box. Not much can go wrong. But if something is, just return to a store you buy a new one from, say it didn't work and oyu want a refund.
FOX1911 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 12:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

the price will go up, 3 days left
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 12:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Eventually I will catch one that is cheap.
FOX1911 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 12:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Let us know how this works out for you
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.