Building my first computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2004, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to ez0k
Default Building my first computer

alright ive decided to try to build my own computer instead of buying a prebuilt one because of the superior quality you get. After some research ive decided on these parts...

case: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...138-033&DEPA=1

hard drive: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...140-133&DEPA=1

memory: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...223-008&DEPA=1

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...138-232&DEPA=0

Processor: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...116-161&DEPA=1

floppy: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-116&depa=1

ive never done this before and i wanted to know if these are good choices and if ive overlooked anything

thx.
__________________

ez0k is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

If I were you, I would get an AMD processor instead of an Intel. The Athlon 64 is a much better gaming processor. Also, I don't see a graphics card listed. If you are a gamer, you will want nothing other than the GeForce 6800 GT.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to ez0k
Default

would this be what your talking about

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...103-486&DEPA=1

im not sure thats compatable with the mobo i picked out

as you can see im not going for the most expensive stuff out there im not really going to be using this computer for playing games i might even sell it after i build it i just want to build one with my spare time
ez0k is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Get that 64-bit processor with the Asus k8v Se deluxe mobo. Its not compatable with that Pentium 4 mobo you picked out.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to ez0k
Default

will this mobo be compatable with everything else i picked out?
ez0k is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 02:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to ez0k
Default

alright ive rethought this computer i want to build i only want to know if all these parts are all compatable with one another and if they will run well together

motherboard - http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-166&depa=0

Video Card - http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...134-108&depa=0

Hard Drive - http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...140-133&DEPA=0

Ram - http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...225-014&depa=1

Case - http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...138-033&depa=1

Floppy Drive - http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-116&depa=1

CD drive - http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...190-002&DEPA=1

i know its alot to look through but will somebody please suggest improvments or anything ive missed?

edit : forgot the processor: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...103-378&depa=1
ez0k is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 11:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

yeah, the CPU and mobo are compatible, the graphics card is not good enough for you other items, I would recommend a 9600Pro or a 5700Ultra for that computer, if its not outside your budget. and with the memory, have you look into getting a 2x256Mb set so you can run your ram in dual channel?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 05:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

You will need to buy a heat sink and fan for that processor, it is OEM, i.e. you only get the processor.

That is a poor graphics card, what games are you interested in playing?
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 07:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to anarkhy
Default

very poor graphics card
anarkhy is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 07:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to ez0k
Default

well i wasnt interested in playing ANY games that would require a good graphics card but im gona put this on hold until i can get some money and build a decent system
__________________

ez0k is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.