Building M7NCD Biostar - problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2004, 12:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Dien
Default

I took everything out but the CPU and HSF. No beeps... starting to think the mobo has a problem now...
__________________

Dien is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 06:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

that is a very weird problem. does the monitorm work on other computers? i would check the video card too. maybe the cpu is dead.
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 06:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Dien
Default

Thanks for the response.

Monitor works on another comp...
Video card should be fine; I keep neglecting to swap it with another to test.
I took this vid card out of one of my other comps (Geforce FX 5200) so I dunno. I figured it'd be fine.
I'm a procrastinator XD
I'll swap vid cards tomorrow (haha, I've probably said that about 5 times on here, and still haven't.)

I can't decide if its the CPU or Mobo... maybe even RAM.

My reasoning for it to be the mobo:
Even though everything lights up and spins and stuff, when I remove the RAM and the Video card then start it up, it does not beep.
I imagine this would also cause no monitor display, right?
Can power still flow through a dead mobo?

But then... the CPU could cause no display, but it doesn't appear to be damaged at all.
The motherboard I have has CPU Savior, so the comp would've turned off if it were too hot (I didn't smell anything frying anyway).

I've also heard that a PSU can cause problems if it isn't "AMD" compatible. I'm pretty sure it said AMD compatible when I ordered it with the case... I'll check it out again.

No beeps, No display, everything lights up, everything spins.

Argh.
I've never had problems building comps for other people...
Dien is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 10:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Dien
Default

I took the comp to a friend's house and tested the stuff on her computers
(All the comps I own are very old, thats why I was trying to build this one... )

It turned out to definitely be the motherboard or the CPU. Not the RAM.

I went to CompUSA and bought a new mobo -- Guru ABit

I put it all together and when I turned it on
I got the siren, all over again.

I guess its time for a new Processor. lol

This sucks. I could've bought a new Dell for the amount of money I'm spending building this one.

Maybe theres jumpers I have to set or something.

This motherboard is pretty cool. It has, obviously the system speaker, but it also has a little display on the bottom left that displays a number if something is wrong.
The number that it displays, according to the manual, means theres something up with the CPU Core Voltage.
Whatever that means.

Suggestions, anyone?

Attached is the little siren noise i've been speaking of (Zip file -- .wav)
Attached Files
File Type: zip comp.zip (44.1 KB, 2 views)
Dien is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 11:36 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

yeah man. it sounds like your psu is fried. you might want to try it on another computer just to check it out. might want to get a better quality one from ANTEC.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 11:58 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Dien
Default

PSU, really?

On the last motherboard I tried a different PSU (my friend's antec, actually) and it didn't do anything different...
Dien is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 05:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

oh ok. since you said that the problem might be the vcore voltage then i thought it would be the psu. it might be the ram though
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 05:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Dien
Default

The manual says "Check CPU Core Voltage"

I don't get a monitor display though so I can't get into BIOS to mess with that stuff...

How would I fix this core voltage thing?

I've been looking online all day to see if theres a jumper or something.
The Abit FAQ site isn't working right... Agh! XD

Would getting a new CPU fix anything? I'd hate to spend more money on this thing. lol
Dien is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 06:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Dien
Default

oh, btw... Thank you for answering my posts
Dien is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 11:09 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

ok. have you tryed to strip down the whole system and start from scratch? just take everything out of the system peice by peice and put it all back together following the instructions on the motherboard manual. i think its the ram in your system. what kind is it?
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.