Building M7NCD Biostar - problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dien

Solid State Member
Building M7NCD Biostar - changed Mobo to AN7 ABIT: No POST, No Display

I'm pretty new at building (I've built 2 previous computers) so... just be warned. haha.

I went to Partspc.com and ordered an M7NCD Biostar Socket A nforce2 400
(http://www.biostar-usa.com/mbdetails.asp?model=m7ncd)

and an AMD Athlon 2700+ 333FSB - came with stock HSF (kept the original thermal pad on it)
the HSF was hard to install... but I doubt I damaged the cpu.
And the CPU was already installed by the company I ordered from.

(I don't remember the site telling me what core the proc. was... it was a bundle so I didn't really bother to check compatibility or whatever because it should obviously work together...)

and I got the rest separately:

Maxtor ATA 133 60GB HDD
Nvidia Geforce 5200FX 128 PCI
1 stick-- 512MB Elixir RAM
(I've been told this motherboard doesn't like cheap ram... I don't know exactly what to consider cheap... I got it from compgeeks.com, 73$)
450W PSU

now the problem:

I turn it on... nothing lights up... but the CPU and PSU fans run... and it beeps the same 2 beeps over and over again lol... ill record it and post a link to it.
Oh, and nothing shows up on the monitor.

I have a Phoenix/Award BIOS

I can't tell if its beeping about the CPU (god I hope not lol) or the RAM... but... since the monitor doesn't show anything.... agh. IS IT THE CPU? XD

when I find my digi cam ill post an audio clip...

its kind of like a siren - high / low beeps.

I'm trying to take the stubborn HSF off now....lol to see if maybe I somehow crushed the CPU.... :(..... might be a long time before I can get it off though haha.

------------------
update:
removed the RAM and video card then turned the PC on --
did a little up-slide noise then did its siren noise again.

I put the video card back in and turned it on - same siren beep as it does when the RAM is in, no slide.