building a Linux computer.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2005, 12:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

The vid was just a cheap one for the purpose of normal video. I looked at the server based ****, it is expensive.

The 2 gigs of memory would definatley be usefull for server applications.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 12:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

http://www.directron.com/s2895ua2nrf.html

How about this motherboard?
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 12:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

http://shop2.outpost.com/product/431...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG
how bout this one? lol j/p of course
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 05-06-2005, 12:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

alrighty, cory, thats only 449.99 over my budget .. leaving me with nothing else to put in the damn "air" case that ill havesince i spent every penny on the Motherboard .. lol
BoobieSrUs is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

loladn youl be in debt!!! ill configure you on later when i get home aight?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 05-06-2005, 04:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesY
Default

Not to sound like a **** or anything, but you are working with a 500-1000US budget, claiming you will be starting a download server on a T3 line with your "bro"

Basically your an old me and a bunch of other guys on this forum, 14 years old, lots of warez, not alot of money but alot of mind.

If you can't even figure out what hardware to put in this "server" of yours, you won't have a clue on how to setup a T3 line.

With that beign said, I love my Asus mobos, go with an Asus if you can find one.
JamesY is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 11:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

dude roger is 17 and knows software more than he knows hardware. hes an excelent guy for setting up a T3 line, just needs some help on servers casue the hardware part of it isnt his forte.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JamesY
Not to sound like a **** or anything, but you are working with a 500-1000US budget, claiming you will be starting a download server on a T3 line with your "bro"

Basically your an old me and a bunch of other guys on this forum, 14 years old, lots of warez, not alot of money but alot of mind.

If you can't even figure out what hardware to put in this "server" of yours, you won't have a clue on how to setup a T3 line.

With that beign said, I love my Asus mobos, go with an Asus if you can find one.
well ok.. so I know nothing bout computers? and ima warez fag? I think not..
as for hardware.. oh hell no.. i suck with it.. you could gimmie a sh!tty motherboard, tell me its the best on the market.. and itll take till i get the comp up and running, look at my comp stats, and notice it sucks on mem..then id look for a new motherboard and find someone else like me whom knows crap about hardware and much on software and try to trade it or sell it off to him :P hehe, im cold hearted!

Thanks cory for responding to that, i forgot id started this post ;/
__________________

BoobieSrUs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.