building a good half life 2 pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2004, 04:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

What kind of problems did you have? AMD's have shorter pipelines and therefore can get more done per clock cycle than Intels..that's why AMD's have lower clock speeds but get just as much done if not more. When you see a 64 with the name like AMD64 3500+ that means approximately it's equivelant to that of a 3.5GHz Intel machine..Generally the 'rule of thumb' or generalized thought about each processor is AMD For games, Intel for Apps because of their bigger pipelines.

Quote:
The rig in mah sig is my Doom 3 rig, and wow, flawless.
ASUS video card was overclocked and softmodded.
1 gig ASUS memory dual channel at 800mhz
ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe mobo is nice, has 8.1 channel onboard audio, but poor tech support.
Oh man you just went ASUS'd out...bah can't stand them, I never want a part from ASUS again, and yeah tech support is beyond terrible...like I've always said unless you can speak taiwanese you're pretty screwed
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 04:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

GO with the A64 you won't regret it! You always be ready for the 64-bit windows too.
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 05:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

ok then which amd64 would you suggest between 3200 -3500. is there really that big of a diff between them? and what about mobo and ram?
deakinusa is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 08:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well essentially one is about the equivelant of 3.2GHz and the other 3.5Ghz....can't remember, think it was apokolipse that confirmed it that they do infact sell 3200+ in socket 939 because you definitely want socket 939 and when I was helping a guy build his computer 3500+ was the lowest chip available for the socket 939 board.

As for a mobo I suggest either the ABit AV8-3rd Eye or MSI Neo2-Platinum, both are good manufacturers, stable boards, and will have more than adequate functions and options in the BIOS.

As far as RAM you can't go wrong with a pair of Corsair XMS or even kingston HyperX but it seems most people, here especially, have Corsair.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 08:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

whoops my bad.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 09:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

to geo3tech
if you would readthe whole post then you would see how much i want spend.
deakinusa is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 12:38 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would expect there be more issues with Intel CPU's than AMD CPU's
the Sempron's and Athlon 64 CPU's are designed so that they can process every 32-bit instruction, even the ones not used by software yet
the Intel CPU's on the other hand sometimes cannot process some 32-bit instructions because they are not capable of it
it's a bit like 2 people speaking english, one can speak english better than the other
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 04:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

whoops sry, double post
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 04:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

if you already have a motherboard at your side, then you can get a pretty good sig for 1000.

RAM - 1 gig Corsair XMS series - $300
MOBO - Asus A8V or Msi socket 939s- $100
CPU - AMD 64 3500 - $280
Sound card -50~$100
Hard drive Rapter 36gig 10000rpm - $120 or just get seagate/WD 160 gigs for like $70 bucks at best buy with rebates
DVD+RW dual layer - $80
or just CD+RW/DVD combo - 6$0

it's close to 1000 bucks. pretty slick sig if you ask me.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 05:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

thats not bad thanks for the replies. ok heres another question. wats the diff between the value series and extreme editions ram or watever they are called. basically i was told to get the higher end sticks if i want to overclock. but im not going to overclock anything so would the Value series be any good to me?
__________________

deakinusa is offline  
Closed Thread

« 9800 pro | Horray!! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.