building a good half life 2 pc

Status
Not open for further replies.

deakinusa

Solid State Member
yes im a newb here and dun know much but i have a couple of questions. im looking to build a good gaming pc for doom 3 and half life 2 and need help. for all who have recently built a p4 pc for gaming, what products did you use? i plan on getting a 3.2 p4 with a gig of ram. what type of MB, ram, etc should i use? there are a couple of preferences though.. no overclocking and i dun want to spend an arm and a leg. i do plan on getting the radeon x800 pro or the geforce 6800. other than that i need help for optimum gaming. thanks for any help

I want to warn you not to get the X800 Pro. It totally sucks in Doom 3, being beat by even the midrange 6600, and is even beat by the 6800GT in HL2. Definately get the 6800GT. You will regret it, as I do, if you get the X800 Pro.

Valve has three leves of a pc that would be able to run HL2

low end (1000$)
CPU: 2ghz p4 or amd
RAM: 512mb
3dcard: ati radeon 9600 pro 128

mid range (1500$)
CPU: 3.6ghz p4 or amd
RAM: 1gb
3dcard: ati radeon 9800 pro 128

high end
CPU: 3.6ghz p4 or amd athlon 64 fx-53
RAM: 1gb
3dcard: ati radeon x800 xt 256mb

As for the brand, just search the forum, for the best ram, hdds, sound card and everything else.

hmm thats interesting..one says not to get the x800 and valve has that on their high end system. i guess ill have to do a lil more research on them two vid cards. ok what about good ram and mb. i plan to build myself so i would say about $1000 without vid card. so i need a cpu, mb, ram, case and power supply, maybe sound card and whatever i might be missing for about $1000 give or take a hundred. thanks for the replies