Building a Gaming PC... need advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2004, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to Jeffrey99
Default Building a Gaming PC... need advice

So far i've been doing some research and it has come down to this:

Antec "Sonata" Case w/400watt powersupply w/120mm fan
Asus K8V Deluxe Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3000 w/heatsink
Kingston Value RAM 3x256MB(768)RAM
Seagate 80GB IDE Ultra ATA133 Hard Drive
ATI Radeon 9800PRO 256MB 8x AGP
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Plantium
Plextor DVD-RW/CD-RW
Sony floppy Disk Drive
Linksys Wireless G PCI Card (for internet)

I am reusing my old hp monitor "view sonic" 17inch CRT and also my old keyboard,mouse,and speakers

I'm building this computer for basically gaming...any opinions or advice would be appreciated

Jeffrey99 is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "ValueRack..."

If you Overclocked the ram to 768, you will need to underclock it before it starts exploding like fire crackers! j\k you could use sommore stuff to cool it down. you know; Fans, Thermal stuff, (Just a suggestion )


Originally posted by bonehelm

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 04:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Not too shabby....will play games such as Far Cry, Doom 3, and HL2. However, I would upgrade the RAM to either Kingston HyperX or Corsair XMS PC3200. I would also get 1GB of it. Not 768MB.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139

if you plan on playing online games i wouldnt recommend wireless internet, my friend has wireless and lag spikes when playing cs. you should also just go with 1 gig of kingston rather than taking up 3 slots with 256's.
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to Jeffrey99

about the wirelss internet thing i wouldn't have much choice since i use dsl through a router and its in my sister's room...unless i buy a real long ethernet line....but thanks for the suggestions anyway guys
Jeffrey99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.