Building First Comp... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2004, 08:00 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Is antifreeze elitrically conductive? Do you use anti freeze? Sounds like I will get two 512 sticks... it's cheaper that way.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 08:08 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

i use antifreeze. But i do not have a compressor. Just regular watercooling. I dunno if its a electric conductor...
__________________

__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 08:45 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to nehi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
I'm also looking to get at least 512mb of sdram. 1gb is good too. Can I get a link to some really good memory?
atleast get DDR if you going to have a P4 w/HT
its the least you could do for the computing world... lol
nehi is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:45 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
Oh and what is overclocking besides the obvious of speeding it up? How do you that and what are the benefits and side effects?

You can easily overclock the cpu in most bios's. If the bios is called something like soft bios, you should be able to do this. You can achive this by uping the front side bus. Keep in mind however when you up the FSB you increase the bus on the PCI bus as well, some card cant tolirate this, so watch out for system instability. The worst that can happen, if you dont have good cooling you can burn something up, but you usually notice errors and system crashing before this happens.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:47 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
Ok here is what I'm considering, For my mobo, and for my processor. Tell me what you think. I am set on the mobo but as for the processor I may be persuaded.
Great motherboard and processor. However this kind of setup requires DDR ram, not sd. Corsair makes the best DDR memory.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:48 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hammyham
875p Chipset is good. If you're going to get 1gb of ddr ram, i suggest you get two 512 sticks.. That way it runs in dual channel.
SDRAM is older ram, I don't even know if they make SD boards anymore.. ?
Yes they still make them, very much so. Just as pentium III's and celeron's are still being made.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:53 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
I found the processor I want, http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-416&depa=1 , Is that a good one? I read the reviews and everybody says it's faster than the intel 3.2ghz with ht tech., Is that true?
Wouldnt really know. If it is, its not by much. Also I went with a dual cpu system and it beats them all . Two 1.0ghz pentium III's running together. And in the event anything can beat it, I can upgrade to two intel tulatins running at 1.4ghz with a powerleap adapter. I will never use one processor on my main machine again, once you get a smp machine you never go back. The dual p3 system of mine also has raid 0. Which is nice...
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 11:11 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

hey lazerman, dont get ram from the makers themselves, they bend you over backward. i got my components from ebay cheaper than on newegg and definitely cheaper than retailers or corsair. or save yourself a lot of money and get two sticks instead of one. also that watercooler is unnecessary for ..really anything right now, especially that cpu yer lookin at. also keep in mind the future advancements that are comin so 64 bit programs and games arent too far away and with that mobo and cpu youd be stuck in 32bit and youd need new mobo and cpu, very expensive. my 3200 is very fast and stable and will be even faster when xp64 comes out. i also dont have any heating problems, my cpu is very cool.
(i built this for around 2300)

amd64 3200
corsair pc3200 512
maxtor 160 sata raid0 (x2)
radeon 9800xt
soyo k8usa
audigy2 zs platinum
pioneer 107b 8x dvd burner
dell 2001fp 20" LCD
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 11:18 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I'll keep that in mind. I'm also thinking about waiting until intel's 64 bit processor comes out.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 12:17 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
I'll keep that in mind. I'm also thinking about waiting until intel's 64 bit processor comes out.

You guys dont really think all the software manufacturers will up and change their code over to 64bit that fast do you? That costs a ton of cash to rewrite all that software, and not to mention games. And if the 64bit chip can decode 32bit, then you have to think, how many software programmers are going to support this? Probably not that many, its been out for a year at least and still the only thing I can see that supports this is windows itself.
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.