Building - CPU probs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2004, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife
Default Building - CPU probs

ok, i order all my **** from newegg and got it today. Put it together turned it on, loaded optimized defaults in the bios and everything seems to be in working order. I went to go grab my XP disc and i come back and theres some kind of alarm going off. So i check the bios and my CPU temp is at 85C. TURNED IT OFF IMMEDIATELY. Turned it on again after a few mins and it did the same thing. Now when i turn it on, after it loads the IDE devices it says "Cpu has been changed or is Unworkable", but all the stats and **** are still in the bios.... what do i do?

Stillxlife is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722

You installed the CPU yourself? You removed the thermal tape to expose the thermal pad? Did you add sufficient thermal compound?

[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife

Yes, i installed it myself, the thermal compound was pre-applied, ive done this several times before, never had this problem
-17\" Nec CRT with Anti-glare Stripped off (haha)
-Cooler Master Centurion Case
-Abit IS7 Mobo
-Northwood Core 3.0 P4
-2x512 Corsair XMS XL series Ram
-WD 10,000 RPM Raptor 74 GB HD
-SB Audigy 2 ZS
-Samsung CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
-128mb ATI Radeon 9600
Stillxlife is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife

Nevermind, i got it, i evened out the thermal compound a little with a razor, and reload the bios defaults, its running at about 42 now, should be good to go, thanks
Stillxlife is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372

lol preapplied usually means the same as crappily done always check it to make sure its good : )

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.