building a computer and any one got sugestions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2005, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to nate
Default building a computer and any one got sugestions

hey this is nate im thinking of building a ocmputer. and i want to go with a blue UV light see threw case what do you guys think. and what processor should i go with im a gamer and i make maps for online games like jka qake3 ect ect. i will go with a ATI video card or the intell pentuim 4 . i dont know what mother board any one have some sugestions plz list them
__________________

nate is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

what is your budget?
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Don't rule out an AMD Athlon or a Geforce 6 so quickly...
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

What is your budget? If its high enough, get an AMD64 and a GeForce 6800 GT.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 12:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to nate
Default

i have about 5 grand five. i also would like a finger print scanner for secruity from my bro too if that is possible i herd it from alien ware ppl but ya .
nate is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Get a pentium 4 "prescott" 3.8ghz with XD
ATI X850XT
2gb (1gbx2) Corsair XMS Heatsinked ram PC-3200
2x Western Digital SATA "Raptor" Drives
You can pick one of those finger print scanners at Sams Club or Office Max for like $40
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 01:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Default

If you got 5 grand go find yourself a 6800Ultra EE, a AMD FX-55 Clawhammer, and 2 Gigs of OCZ ram. That would SLAUGHTER just about anything.
__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 04:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

^^^^^^^^^^

5 Grand gets you an fx-55, an Asus A8V SLI (w/e) with 2 6800 Ultra's.

That will slaughter any Intel or Ati Rig
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 05:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

with five grand i would wait a a few months and get the FX-57 AMD that is supposedly coming out.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 06:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 125
Default

Um, yeah, with 5 grand. I'd not spend all of that on a computer. Unless....your super rich. Save some of that you will thank me later when you find something else you want.

Plus, if you are a hard core gamer playing hard core games get the best AMD processor and go l337orz on everybody. If you are a regular gamer playing harcore games (Hl2 and D3) , then even the Intel like mine will do you just perfect and you will not tell any difference.

Just I really think spending all that money would be a waste for any computer. Just my 2c
__________________

Esse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.