Building a computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2005, 01:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via Yahoo to churnabog
Default

Ya, I figured. Different RAM then...CORSAIR XMS 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model CMX512-3200. That should do it. I already have 2 sticks, and my sister should have some extras lying around at her place if I need any more.
__________________

churnabog is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

That should be fine.
__________________

Luxar is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
That ram is accurate. Straight from www.newegg.com.
LOL, just because Newegg carries it does not mean it is compatible with your system
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via Yahoo to churnabog
Default

lol Sorry, I thought you meant you didn't believe 200-pin RAM existed. I'm kinda new with building your own computer, so cut me some slack. :P Ya, I realize I made a pretty stupid mistake, and that's why I posted this in the first place.
churnabog is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:34 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 320
Default

Get a more relieable brand hard drive.
Also I would recomend changing the motherboard to a dfi or asus.
__________________
Grayfox is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:42 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

I disagree. I have the "ultra" version of that MSI mobo, and it serves me quite well.
Luxar is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:46 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via Yahoo to churnabog
Default

For the motherboard I'll go with the DFI nF4-DAGF Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard. I've read plenty of great reviews for that hard drive, but do you have any recommendations for one with a similar price?
churnabog is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:49 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

Try this WD one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822135106
Luxar is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:52 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via Yahoo to churnabog
Default

Looks good. I'm not sure what to do about the motherboard now. I'll ask my uncle whether I should go with the MSI or the DFI. The difference is only $17, so it's down to which one performs better.
churnabog is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 02:13 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

Well if you're overclocking, go with the DFI. If not, then the MSI will do you just as well, and it has good software support to boot.

Really, if you're not overclocking just go with the cheaper of the two.
__________________

Luxar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.