Building computer... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2004, 01:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Question Building computer...

Hey guys, this is my first post on here, and I just had a couple of questions. First of all, I've never built my own computer, but I have a pretty good understanding on where everything gets connected and so forth.

My question is on the components that I picked - will they all work together?

Here's the rough list I put together from tigerdirect.com. I'm looking to spend no more than $900 on the system, and $100 for the OS (WinXP,OEM). If you have a suggestion on something I should do differently, please let me know! I plan on using the computer for games and video editing.

H14-1004 :: High Power ATX Mid-Tower with 420Watt Dual Fan Power Supply, Front USB, Firewire and Audio Ports $69.99

MBM-P4P800-3000NC :: Asus P4P800 Deluxe Socket 478 Motherboard with Pentium4 3.0 GHz 800MHz Processor $374.99

K24-4906 :: Kingston 512MB Non-ECC, CL3 PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory $99.99

P450-8503 :: XFX nVidia GeForce FX 5200 Video Card / 256MB DDR / AGP 8X / TV Out & DVI $94.99

S167-3240 :: Sony DRU530A DVD Burner / 8x4x12x DVD+RW / 4x2x12x DVD-RW / 40x24x40x CD-RW / Dual Format $146.99

THD-1200AA P :: Seagate 120GB / 7200 / 2MB / ATA-100 EIDE Hard Drive $99.99

M17-7500 :: Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition OEM Version $99.99


Thanks! Any help is appreciated!
__________________

ricks98cobra is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 02:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

First thing that jumps out is that those prices arent that great. Try www.newegg.com and see if the total ends up better.

Second, that hard drive has a 2mb buffer. You want 8mb.

Other than that... looks okay.
__________________

__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Shrapnill -

Thanks for the suggestion! I priced it all out at newegg.com, and the prices did seem to be cheaper, and IMO I think I'll be buying a better computer in the end with newegg.com.

Total comes to $1034, and here's the link with all the specs on it.
http://secure.newegg.com/app/WishR.asp?ID=711850

If anyone has a minute, could you check it out and see if I missed anything? Also, does it look like it'll all work together nicely?

Thanks again guys!

-Rick

(EDIT: Messed up the kind of RAM I was getting, should be set now!)
ricks98cobra is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i would strongly caution you about risking your entire $1000 system on a cheapo pice of crap 350watt power supply that came bundled with a $46 case, thats just asking for trouble. if you need a cheap power supply get the enlight 420 on newegg.

if you want to save a few hundred dollars get an AMD mobo & XP2800/xp3000 processor instead. also your hard disk is ata100, it will bottleneck your processor and memory on applications so you are basically wasting your money. get a SATA or ATA133 hard disk instead.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 123
Default

Looks good, but listen to ekÆsine cause there right.
__________________
No time to sign.
w105 is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 09:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Hey guys,



I updated it with your suggestions ekÆsine, and what I added was a SATA 80gb hard drive(SAMSUNG - SP0812C), and changed the case to a $49 case with a 420watt power supply(RAIDMAX Black 10-bay Case with 420W Power Supply, Model "ATX-868WBP").

I'm going to stay with the Intel/P4 mobo and processor though.

Any more input is greatly appreciated...thanks again!

-Rick
ricks98cobra is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 10:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 123
Default

Are you going to be overclocking?

If you are, you might want to change the mobo to an ASUS or ABIT.

Other than that, nice setup, though I still think you should consider a seperate PSU.
__________________
No time to sign.
w105 is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 12:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 82
Default

ata100 and SATA or ATA133 HDD use same connector to motherboard or can someone explain difference and the connectors.
Traicer is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 01:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

some other little things you will need is the thermal compound for the cpu and fan. also if ur doing that raidmax case i would do some cold cathodes and round cables. i also reccomend running an asus or abit and one thats compatible with dual channel memory. If u do like 2 256mb dual channels.
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 10:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I actually don't plan on overclocking the computer at all, so that's why I went with the intel board, it looks like a nice high quality board for the 3.0, so that's what I'll do. The thermal compound that mrzeedler mentioned where is that applied to? On the mobo or processor? Also, one last question, the 420W PSU that comes with the RAIDMAX case, is that not sufficient enough? I am really lost when it comes to this power supply stuff, and not entirely sure why it makes that big of a deal...can someone enlighten me?

mrzeedler - What are cold cathodes used for and why round cables?

Thanks again for all your help guys!

-Rick
__________________

ricks98cobra is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.