Building Cheap Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Building Cheap Computer

I'm building a cheap computer just for using the internet and using office utilities.

I'm not sure about the motherboard though. Do you think I should get this motherboard (Is SiS anygood?) I just want something that is cheap and reliable.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813131518R

Or should I get an intel based 865G?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813128236R
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

dont get reburb dude. Search for Biostar motherboards on newegg. You can get one that has support for 800fsb and ddr400 for like $48 and its NEW
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 06:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Biostar are COMPLETE crap as well as ECS and Jetway
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Is that SiS chipset any good?
turtile is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

SiS is crap

go for via or nvidia
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 07:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

This is what I thinking about now:

Intel Celeron D 2.8
Giga-byte 865G chipset
512MB Corsair PC3200
80GB WD HD
Lite on DVD ROM
RAIDMAX 420w + Case
Microsoft optical mouse/Keyboard

For $315.50 w/ shipping included
turtile is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

I know that you're going for cheap, but the PSU in your case will probably crap out on you or be DOA. Acheap case with a PSU means a super-cheap PSU.

Look at Antec or Thermaltake.

http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....iteria=BA20580

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133157

http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....iteria=BA21509

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=140034

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=273022
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 06:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Someone else I know has had that PSU for two years without any problems.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 07:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

they can crap at anymoment

they have some cheap antec cases..
tylerdrude is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

building a cheap system for internet.
basically: Sempron, Celeron, A64 or P4 2800+/3000+ at most
Gigabyte K8N (socket 754) or some cheap Gigabyte or Abit socket 478 or 775 motherboard

video card: the FX-5200 is the most you'll need

RAM: 2x256mb PC3200 value

cheap DVD ROM

420W Thermaltake PSU, and any case
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.