Building a Beowulf - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2004, 11:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Don't mind me asking, lazerman, but what is a Beowulf?
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 11:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
Yes I really like this folding Idea... I think it will be the cause I/we strive for.
Glad to hear it

Josh
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 02:43 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Quote:
halo: Don't mind me asking, lazerman, but what is a Beowulf?
Quote:
A network of relatively inexpensive computers (including PCs), potentially using different processors and hardware architectures, united by GNU/Linux and special system-level software into a massively parallel computing system, so that all of the computers work as one computer. A good cheap way to have a supercomputer
lazerman,

We can work on infinite monkey theorem
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 03:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

Hey just wondering if a duel mobo with 2 pentium 3's would be any help. can oc to 2ghz if u want it i might be able to give it to u
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 03:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i could run a p166 mmx 96mb ram with no cdrom, and run it 24hrs a day. I have the facities to do that.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 06:20 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

Don't know if it would be allowed but you guys could start a folding team of your own and run the program on your computers. It adds a little competition to help drive interest. Just a thought. If you don't want a team or care about points you could always use my user name and team

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 06:43 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Josh18657,

Hey, iam impressed at this F@H , ive heard of it ,but never used it. Now i downloaded this software for linux , and its asking for a 'team number' .. what shld i give in that?
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 06:58 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

there are a few options for this, leave it at 0, this will not put your points towards any team, set up a team for these forums and enter that # or you can put the number of a team already set up. The team I am on is team 13285 (team ABIT).

here is a link to the form to start a new team
http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/createteam.pl

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 07:03 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

If you guys want to join the ABIT team I'll be sure to put an official welcome up on there forums. Just let me know.

TEAM ABIT team link, lots of good info on the program and help here.
http://forum.abit-usa.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=27

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 07:09 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Josh18657,

Ive put up your team number. I cant create a team and add up users, i think ill help your team ...my user name is intercodes.
Thanks ya
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.