Build together! Need help now - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Default Build together! Need help now

I got my build together and am ready to start installing my OS. When I boot up the computer recognizes the HD, the floppy, and CD. After detecting all those items I get a window where it says "Updating ESCD" and then it shows "Success" It then shows "Building DMI Pool" and that is all that it will do. I leave it going, but nothing happens.

Help please!!!!!

Here is my build sheet

Motherboard DFI "LANPARTY 875P-T" i875P Chipset Motherboard For Intel LGA 775 CPU

CPU Intel LGA775 Pentium 4 550 3.4 GHz, 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache, Hyper Threading Technology

RAM Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200

Hard Drive (High Speed OS Drive) Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model WD740GD

Hard Drive (Video Hard Drive) Seagate 7200.8 400GB 7200RPM SATA NCQ Hard Drive, Model ST3400832AS

Sound Card (High Quality for Video Editing) Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 4 Pro PCI Sound Card, Model "SB0380"

Power Supply Unit ThermalTake 560W

CD-RW Read/Writer Lite-On Black 52X32X52X16 Combo Drive, Model SOHC-5232K

DVD-RW Reader/Writer Plextor 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Burner with s/w and Black and Beige Bezels, Model PX-716A/SW
Floppy Disk Drive SONY Black 1.44MB 3.5inch Floppy Disk Drive

Case Thermaltake VA3000 Dream Tower Black Tsunami VA3000BWA ATX Case

CPU Heatsink/General Cooling Thermaltake Silent 775 CPU Cooler With Heatpipe Coling Tech for Intel LGA775 Prescott, Model "CL-P0092"


My video card is Radeon 9800 256 8X AGP
__________________

smallblock is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Panty-Shot
Default

I know it doesnt makes a lot of sense, but you booted your pc up with your OS cd in your CD-rom and wait for your OS( in this case Win) to set the files for the installation of win. And then it will reboot and you will install win.

However, this is just a random guess.
__________________

Panty-Shot is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Default

That doesn't work, either.
__________________
~ Heath
smallblock is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 01:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Panty-Shot
Default

do you have a floppy in your floppy drive when you boot? Just guessing.

Tell me exactly what you did after you put everything together.
Panty-Shot is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 01:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Clear your BIOS. Check the manual for further reference.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 03:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Oh man major take off that scary avatar, it's just horrid
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 08:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Angry GRRRR!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Oh man major take off that scary avatar, it's just horrid
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Default

Is BIOS part of CMOS?
__________________
~ Heath
smallblock is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The terms CMOS, EPROM and BIOS usually refer to the same thing: the BIOS.
Although the CMOS is the type of semiconductor used to store the BIOS software settings. And EPROM stands for Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Default

Ok, thanks. I reset the bios last night and am still having the same problem.
__________________

__________________
~ Heath
smallblock is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.