Build my system for an X800XT AGP - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2005, 12:22 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

rollin, what kind of sandra 2005 benchmarks do you get with your system?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 12:23 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rollincatera
i'd say a 3.4HT P4 LGA775 and an ABIT ag8 mobo. overclock the thing a bit and your flyin. oh, it's beats the 800 range by a mile
forlon has decided AMD, it is ceaper and will fit in budget. 3.4HT will be around 300 alone.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 12:25 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

rollin, were u selling that pc, or was it someone u bought it off of, it was on sale in te Buy/Sell section
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:31 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Forlorn_ronin, get that Abit AV8 3RD EYE. Its a very good mobo. Its good for OC also. That mobo comes with Abits special OC Utility. Very easy to understand. If you have any questions about that mobo, PM me. I have it, have OC with it ect. Again, if your a gamer, then dont even consider a Intel. Experience proves.

As Gaara said, OCZ Rev3 Gold Edition Dual Channel Kit 2x512MB. Would work very well.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 09:57 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Ok this is good. I am liking the Abit AV8 mobo paired with the AMD Athlon 64 3200. I will go with these as my mobo and processor. I have a few questions though.

Ok first, don't I need to install a fan on the processor chip? If yes then can anyone tell me a decent fan compatible with this and any links that could help me with installing this on the processor?

Ok then next....

I noticed a few power supllies by thermaltake around 450 and 480 watts. Is this acceptable for this type of system. I agree that this is an important feature, but would like to cut the costs down in this area. Any suggestions?

Ok then Finally....

I also was wondering about the memory. My thing is like whoa on the price tag for the memory. Obviously I know this is an important factor for a system. This likely has an affect on my ATI AIW X800 XT 256MB AGP 8x Card. But, is there an alternative that is around the performance of what gaara stated as: OCZ Rev3 Gold Edition Dual Channel Kit 2x512MB? I would also like to cut the money down in that area without getting into to much overall loss of performance.

Oh and by the way... You guys rock. Thanks gaara you smacked it down. LOL. Thanks also to ankush, DJ, and Codeine. I might take you up on that offer Codeine when I start to put this monster together.

Much obliged to all of you ~ Ronin
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:35 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

ram:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-440&depa=1

You can use the stock fan and heatsink that come with the processor (assuming you get retail)
however non-stock coolers are usually better and if you want to overclock you might want one, this is my favorite:
http://www.xoxide.com/zalman-7700-cu-cpu-cooler.html

Power supply:
http://www.xoxide.com/ocz-modstream-...dular-psu.html
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:43 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

AMD 3200+ (oc to 3800 easy)
MSI Neo2 Platinum
or ABIT a8v (both good for ocing)
2X120gig sata seagate in raid 0
1gig Geil Value ram or G.Skill PC4400 F1 (g.skill if you want seriouse oc)

don't get the corsair value as it is cas3 and doesn't like having the timings tightened much and the geil looks at least as cool
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:19 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Ok first, don't I need to install a fan on the processor chip? If yes then can anyone tell me a decent fan compatible with this and any links that could help me with installing this on the processor?
The Thermaltake Venus 12 Heatsink mentioned by a couple of us will include a more than adaquent fan.

As far as RAM is concerned, if you don't plan on overclocking, value RAM will suit you fine and save a bunch of money in your wallet. If you plan on overclocking however, I'm afraid you won't achieve very good results without dishing out a bit of money. It's well worth it though.

The PSU issue I'm a bit torn on. $50 is about as cheap as you're gonna get for a semi-decent power supply, and even that's a bit iffy. The PSU is a really important part, if you throw in some cheap generic PSU with your equipment and it fries, chances are it'll take something else with it.

Basically what you want is good steady rails. If you look on the inside of your current case now you will probably see a label on the side of your PSU with a bunch of numbers like 3.3, 5, 12 etc. These are your rails, and should not fluctuate very much, as in they should maintain a pretty steady voltage, and they should remain relatively close to where they should be.

In addition, some PSUs are rated as 420 watts, but that may really just be their peak output, meaning they won't put a steady 420 watts all the time. A good power supply will give out a steady output they advertise and will have a higher peak output. For example, a 420 watt PSU may give out a steady 420 watts, but may peak at something like 500 watts.

Finally, you'll want high amps on your rails. Basically, the higher the better.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 12:36 AM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 84
Default I OWN IT!!!

I have an ati x800 xt... and well just look at the rest for a BAD *** pc... ME VERY HAPPY!
__________________
Amd 3500 cpu
Abit AV8 mobo
1gb (512x2mb) Corsair XMS low latency ram
ATI X800 XT videocard
36gb Western Digital 10,000rpm HD
2x 80gb Western Digital 7200rpm HDs
Antec neopower 480w psu
Ultra Dragon High Gloss Black Server case
ravin is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 12:49 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Ok then here's my next question. Say I go with the value ram. Will I notice a big difference in the performance of my vid card? Also if I don't plan on overclocking and want to keep it at stock levels will my AMD 3200 CPU & value memory at cas 2.5 timing be fast and able to handle the ATI AIW X800 XT 256MB AGP vid card? I guess what I'm asking is will I be able to tell the difference by eye? Thanks guys!
__________________

__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.