Build me a computer!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2005, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Smile Build me a computer!!!

Hi guys, I'm new to this foum and I like what you guys have to say. I am about to get my bachelor's and want to buy or build a computer. I have been doing some research for a while. I looked at places such as ibuypower and cyberpowerpc. Those places don't have all the choices in parts that I would want. So, I want you guys to help me build a pc for around $2,000 not including monitor, keyboard, mouse, or speakers. Just the case and what goes inside.

Thanks in advance for all your support and input.
__________________

bokmunn is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 61
Default

You're gonna have to be a little more detailed about what you want. What are you gonna be using this machine for? Gaming, Video/Audio editing, Spreadsheets, or general use and internet surfing. What you want to do with your machine is going to dictate what parts you need for it. So how about a little more info.
__________________

__________________
BUM+ Certified
g-unit is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 02:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

$2000 can get you a totally awesome gaming rig if you want it. But if you just want it for email/internet you wouldn't even need to spend $500.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Default

The computer will be used for gaming, surfing. I'll also be needing a pretty big hd since I will be backing up my dvd's. Thanks.
bokmunn is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Hmm. mabey 500gb's in raid 0? 2x250. 2x512mb ram, and mabey a a64 3000 winchester?

1x200 or 2x200 might be fine too. each dvd is about 5gb, so depending on how many dvd's you have I guess.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

I have just finished building a PC, so i have free time. You need to give us more detailed info, on what you want, your brand prefference, etc. Depending on how many DVD'd you plan on backing up, i would recommend at least 450+ GB of storage. I have over a terrabyte, but i rip movies like nobody's business. Feel free to e-mail me at borys_k@hotmail.com, snd i will give you a few options on whta i can do, as well as give you a pretty good price estimate. Also, would provide a copy of XP PRO SP2, because i have acorporate licnce for 20 usrs, so i still have 19 to go.
BorysK is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

dude i think he wants to build one himself if anything

3500+
dfi lanparty
1 gig dual channel corsair xms maybe 2 gigs cuz you have the money
4 200gig sata hard drives
lian li case
6800 ultra eVGA maybe dual gt's?
dvd-rw x2
zalman 7000cu
antec neopower 550 psu
this would be an awesome system
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

amd athlon 3200+ winchester
dfi lanparty ultra-d SLI
2x twinmos ram
2x 6800gt
2x seagate 250gb hdd in raid0 (or maybe 2 more?)
ocz powerstream 520
NEC 3510A x2

or maybe non-sli..
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.