Broken Power Button on Case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2010, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Default Broken Power Button on Case

Hey Guys. I posted this in the general computing forum and was told to try my luck here... I'm getting ready to build my first computer and found a case locally off of Craigslist a few months ago. I finally got around to checking it out and found that the 2-pin wire that connects the power button to the motherboard had been cut... I don't have a soldering iron or any real tools, but I went ahead and clipped the socket side from the HDD light and stripped it down then did the same to the power wires... If I twist the two together and secure them with electrical tape, would it be reasonable to believe that might work?
__________________

dagger576 is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Broken Power Button on Case

From work experience i know there is a simple way to turn on a PSU without a case and switch, has to do with touching two wires for a second or so, but I dont know which they are since i was shown a long time ago and i would advise you to wait for someone with better knowledge of the subject.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Broken Power Button on Case

Touching the wires together (you actually short them, with a paper clip of something) only works if you are trying to turn the PSU on without it being connected to the motherboard (I'm pretty sure...)

@OP: You can turn on your PC with a screw driver, if you wanted to. All you have to do is find the two pins on your motherboard that correspond to Power On, and use a screw driver to bridge the two. Works like a charm

As for twisting the wires onto the pins, theoretically that would work, but good luck trying to do that... I would think that would be pretty difficult to do, because the pins are so small.
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 08:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Broken Power Button on Case

Quote:
Originally Posted by dagger576 View Post
Hey Guys. I posted this in the general computing forum and was told to try my luck here... I'm getting ready to build my first computer and found a case locally off of Craigslist a few months ago. I finally got around to checking it out and found that the 2-pin wire that connects the power button to the motherboard had been cut... I don't have a soldering iron or any real tools, but I went ahead and clipped the socket side from the HDD light and stripped it down then did the same to the power wires... If I twist the two together and secure them with electrical tape, would it be reasonable to believe that might work?
No problem. Except the HDD light won't work of course
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 10:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Broken Power Button on Case

That should work, or buy another one:
2 pin Motherboard connector
jfenwick is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Broken Power Button on Case

I had an old case that had a broken power button. Me and my dad would just stick a screw driver in the hole ( removed the button..stripped wires) and move it around till both touched at the same time lol..would turn on like a charm oh course we got lazy and just pulled the wires out and touched them together to get it to power on

got kinda annoying because since we had to touch the wires it meant it had to be close..which meant if anyone accidently bumped it they would touch and cause it to shut down while in the middle of doing things lol :\

I would just go out and buy a new connector though
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 01:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Broken Power Button on Case

Other option, check your local classifieds for people dumping old cases for free...just scavenge the power button wire off it.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power switch button rjmac System Upgrades 11 11-19-2009 04:04 AM
I need a power button. How do I make one? pc_boy Overclocking and Modding 7 08-22-2009 07:11 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Connecting the power button cristo33 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-29-2007 06:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.