Broke my HD3850!!! NOOOOO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2008, 09:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Broke my HD3850!!! NOOOOO

thank god i saved this 7600gs...


lol i was cleaning dust out of my case and somehow i broke off one of the capacitors putting it back in (wups...)

unfortunately i dont have any extra caps that are this size, (and i cant RMA because i bought it from a no-name doo-doo site..)


so, now i need another 3850 AGP for the next few months untill i get my AM2+ upgrade (cmon, i JUST bought farcry2, i dont want to run it on this 7600gs..... its not even half as powerful as the 3850 i had)


so i just had a HIS Radeon HD3850 IceQ (factory overclocked version with a shiny bright UV LED)


and now i need another 3850 of some kind,


anyone know good sites to get it? other than tigerdirect and newegg
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 09:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Broke my HD3850!!! NOOOOO

For one capacitor, just buy a new one of the same type online and solder it on...if the one you broke off wasn't physically ruined, you should still be able to solder it back on. If it's a common type, you can probably get something to replace it with at RadioShack.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Broke my HD3850!!! NOOOOO

Crap, thats just bad luck bro.

I would say ebay, but ebay is full of imbeciles. Newegg is great but an AGP 3850 is kind of expensive. Why not get a cheap 3650 for the time being until your actually ready for a full upgrade? It should be able to run Far Cry 2 some what decently.

Newegg.com - AGP 4X/8X, Radeon HD 3000 series, Desktop Graphics / Video Cards, Video Cards & Video Devices, Computer Hardware
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Broke my HD3850!!! NOOOOO

resolder it, its your best bet if there is no damage to it other wise, go buy a new one at cc.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 10:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Broke my HD3850!!! NOOOOO

aw man, I hate it when that happens, trust me, I've had my fare share of broken capacitors and resistors and whatnot. Now, you really don't need to go off buying a new one for something as simple as a capacitor. If I was able to solder those two resistors back on to my 8800GTS, no reason why you wouldn't be able to manage something much larger like a capacitor, as long as it's in good condition


__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 12:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Broke my HD3850!!! NOOOOO

well, re-soldering the capacitor didnt work, and i really dont feel like screwing around with it anymore

im good with a soldering iron, and i'll continue to try to fix this one,

but in the mean time i'll get another, and use this as a backup

i collect extra parts anyway

so taht when i DO upgrade, i have 2-3 complete systems to sell so its not so expensive
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD3850 512MB for $100 gurusan Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 06-08-2008 06:18 PM
ASUS HD3850 X3 Specifications and Benchmarks b1gapl Overclocking and Modding 13 03-27-2008 09:10 PM
Great Opportunity? Alternatives? Just broke, heh... dartgande Technology Careers and Education 1 09-25-2007 11:33 AM
Selling Kind of Broke Hacked PSP w/2gb mem stick and Tekken game! Sora Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 05-29-2007 01:52 AM
I broke Her Heart! Ioanni Off Topic Discussion 30 04-06-2007 06:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.