Bought a Dell - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2004, 09:38 PM   #41 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

How is dell less expensive than newegg? That's the most rediculous statement I've ever heard. Dell adds at least 25-30% to all their compenents.
__________________

__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 12:11 AM   #42 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Sharp tools to modify the "plain" case. Like a Dremel hand saw.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 09:45 AM   #43 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

GeckoEcho421

Who was your question and comment for?
wkbl52 is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 04:18 PM   #44 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Gecko your absolutely rite. I dont know why some people stand by Dell. Like i stated earler in this thread, all computer components install the same way, rather im builting it or Dell, Sony.

Desides the fact that they have contracts with hardware companys and get everything dirt cheap, they still sell it for alot more.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 06:54 PM   #45 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to sniper234
Default

Dell has very bad support BTW but in the same aspect they stink i would have built a AMD 64 system like i did i got rid of dell and got the parts for a new build
sniper234 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 03:02 AM   #46 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Dell... well, they seem kinda cheap until you add any options. On one I swear they wanted an extra £100 for another 80GB and then they wanted you to get a SATA cable for £20. Not to mention they ask for £11.75 if you want a USB lead for your printer.

On the bright side, they're supposed to be happy to replace anything under warranty (so if you type with a pair of hammers- awesome). But my God, the prices for a decent spec

I had a Compaq laptop until recently, the mobo failed just out of warranty and then the screen wiring loom caught fire. Words totally fail me at how annoyed at this sh*t I am.
jim_77 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 03:12 AM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jim_77
I had a Compaq laptop until recently, the mobo failed just out of warranty and then the screen wiring loom caught fire. Words totally fail me at how annoyed at this sh*t I am.
Do you remember what model that was? I want to see if my mom's laptop (also Compaq) has any potential problems. It is a bit past warranty and running fine, but i would hate to miss a sign of it going bad and just watch it die one day.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 03:20 AM   #48 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Mine was a Presario 1525EA- all the Presario 1500(Intel) and Evo 1000(AMD) series are similar, I found out by downloading the service manual in a vain attempt to start repairing it.
jim_77 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 04:21 AM   #49 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 225
Default

do you think they will ever make a way to build your own laptop as easily as a desktop?
ak_smallz is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 09:07 AM   #50 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jim_77
Mine was a Presario 1525EA- all the Presario 1500(Intel) and Evo 1000(AMD) series are similar, I found out by downloading the service manual in a vain attempt to start repairing it.
ah ok. my moms is a 2100 i believe. Has a mobile 2400+ in it, great lil' laptop lol.

Quote:
do you think they will ever make a way to build your own laptop as easily as a desktop?
oh man i hope so. that would be the biggest thing EVER! but also quite expensive...
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.