Bought a Dell - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 02:02 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to shibbi Send a message via AIM to shibbi
Default

WAIT A SECOND!!! i have dell... does this mean i cant install my 6800GT 128mb on it?!!??
__________________

shibbi is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 02:13 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

You'll have to check with dell first.
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 02:21 PM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to shibbi Send a message via AIM to shibbi
Default

so most dell's do support the upgrading?
shibbi is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 02:24 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I would think so, to an extent. Changing heatsinks could be an issue, due to that tube, and 120mm fan.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 02:27 PM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to shibbi Send a message via AIM to shibbi
Default

well, my uncle is installing mine, and hes like a pro... and does like technical support himself, so he will manage, and teach me :-).

edit: ive called dell, and they say i can install any agp graphics card
shibbi is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 09:11 AM   #36 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

If you buy from Dell, Compaq, or Gateway your getting it stuck in your a$$. All of the components are proprietary. 99% all components must be from the computer's manufacturer and installed by an authorized computer repair/upgrade center. So if your power supply quits. You need to contact the company, they will direct you to a service center and make you pay 180% for a part and charge labor. If you do it yourself you will void the warranty. But if you built a computer you will end up paying about 70% percent of retail price of the part and no service charge to put it in since your doing the work. Heh you might even learn something while repairing your own "custom" computer. Also the computers look like crap. I would rather have an acrylic window on the side with cold cathode lights that flicker to the music.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 09:13 AM   #37 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

forgot one thing but if you beat it up and your generally rough with computer the Dells are good since they will replace almost everything.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 05:35 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
forgot one thing but if you beat it up and your generally rough with computer the Dells are good since they will replace almost everything.
...? you can replace ANYTHING in your own custom computer...and it's usually cheaper than a manufactured part.

Also above you posted 2 pics, one white tower and another pre-mod. I'd definetly take the white tower over the pre-mod. That pre-mod basically is done...i can't see any mojor mods that can be done to it. That white case could have a custom paint job, fan holes, blowhole, lights, window, alot of things. I'd rather do it myself.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 06:12 PM   #39 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

True....True... You can do more with the plain one but I dont trust myself using any sharp tools I'll just screw it up.. Plus on the paint job I would have it run all over the place. The only mod I make to my already "modded" case is I put in a window applique, the etched glass look. Let me get back into the subject. Oh yeah dont get any computer pre-built. Building your own computer is easy. Like every other month a couple of PC mags have step by step instructions with pictures, on how to build.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 07:36 PM   #40 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Any company will replace it for you for $. Dell does it just like any other company...where do you get sharp tools from... ? I dont member using anything sharp to install anything.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.