Bought a Dell - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2004, 01:22 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GageMW
Dells, HPs,Sonys they're all the same, except for compaq which is 10x worse and there is no reason to get one, if you have little money, unless you're stupid and/or extremely clumsy build your own, if you have lots, again build your own or go with custom made like alienware or falcon-nw, and forget the warranty **** most of newegg's parts have at least a 1 year warranty thru them or manufacturer. + you cannot do **** with HPs or Dells, i would know as im sitting on one now. No bios change, annoying HP spyware/software,**** OCing bad drivers ****TY proprietary parts... thie list goes on, DONT BUY COMPAQ EVER, same with hp and dell and sony and emachine and.... you get the point
might think of:

1. not everyone wants to overclock.
2. more than half of people using computers dont even know what BIOS is
3. A $500 DELL is probably MORE than the average computer even needs to do what they do (e-amil, internet, watch DVD's...etc)


I have a compaq laptop and have no problems with it in the 2+yrs. of owning it. Doesn't overheat or anything surprisingly. Also have older Desktop AMD 475MHz computer...never had problems with it. What is wrong with your compaq's?

Quote:
Originally posted by GageMW
agreed on the getting job done, but which is worth more? the time to build a custom pc or the money to buy a dell and then twice the time it would take to make custom dealing with tech support like this: http://www.illwillpress.com/tech.html
why do you need tech support? i have probably 13 HP/Dell/IBM/Compaq/emachines computers in my house...never called tech support once in my life. If one has a problem i simply fix it myself. If you cannot fix it (dont know how i guess) then Google it. i honestly have found EVERY answer to my computer questions online or from word of mouth. googel is very n00b friendly
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:23 AM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I sure do.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:28 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

omg. dont get me started, it might be because the best buy guy sold me it with windows ME stating compaq's ran better on it, it might be because it had the crappiest WD hard drive to ever exist, it might be because when it crashed for absolutely no reason the tech support was on pot (not kidding) it might be because it was $1300 but slower then ****, it might be because i later find out it had refurbished parts, it might be because the memory was defective, it might be because it nearly fried me when i pushed power button to turn it on... must i continue?
GageMW is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:29 AM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

and to the google, i wasn't very techy at that time, nor did i have the time to fix it as i was working 2 jobs, college, and a GF
GageMW is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:33 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GageMW
omg. dont get me started, it might be because the best buy guy sold me it with windows ME stating compaq's ran better on it, it might be because it had the crappiest WD hard drive to ever exist, it might be because when it crashed for absolutely no reason the tech support was on pot (not kidding) it might be because it was $1300 but slower then ****, it might be because i later find out it had refurbished parts, it might be because the memory was defective, it might be because it nearly fried me when i pushed power button to turn it on... must i continue?
i'm sorry you can't shop for computers? buying a crappy computer/overpriced/and on Windows ME is entirely your fault. i do not believe the high techsupport people or sales clerk brainwashed you. if at the time you didn't know alot about computers, i understand. but that doesn't mean it's entirely everyone elses fault. there job is to sell you a computer and make a profit...no matter your expense.

if you don't have time to mess with computers or tinker with them...how do you have time to play games or overclock them? that doesn't make sense to me.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:38 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

at THAT time, i now run 1 steady job, same girlfriend but less sporatic, far more techy now with far more time, and the computer itself had good parts for the time but it just ran way slower then everyone elses and i barely did anything, hardly ever played games on it
GageMW is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:41 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GageMW
at THAT time, i now run 1 steady job, same girlfriend but less sporatic, far more techy now with far more time, and the computer itself had good parts for the time but it just ran way slower then everyone elses and i barely did anything, hardly ever played games on it
ah...that makes sense lol. i was a bit confused. i do more "playing around" in my BIOS then i do in games lol. and probably more time on forums than anything, "forum-a-holic".
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 08:44 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Ive worked on a lot of Dell systems and you get what you pay for. The last system i worked on had no DVD player only a CD drive and CDRW drive .One of those $499 specials i wouldnt buy a Computer that couldnt read a DVD hehe .There CPU`s are underclocked along with the memory and theres nothing you can do about it .A Sony system i worked on had underclocked memory
But it was advertised at a higher FSB than what it would actually do.False advertisement at its finest .Half the time Tech support personel barely no what the blinking light means on there phone answering console .
Ive had good luck and support for the Gateway Systems ive purchased 7-8 years ago.Not sure how well there support is now but they were very knowledable and fixed any problems i had.Plus replaced my hard drives/keyboards/mouse for free when i broke them. In fact the PII 233 and the PIII 750 systems from Gateway are still going strong
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 04:39 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

I've had more luck with my one gateway laptop (900 MHZ p3 Mobile) than i'd had with my Compaq and HP. The reason that HP and Compaq sucked so horribly is because they were way underpowered. This P3 i have i can even dual-boot linux on. Even after i replaced the HDD on the HP i couldn't dual-boot.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 08:20 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

This is quite the interesting thread. As an EX Compaq user myself, I can safely say, that building your own computer is not only cheaper, but it also gives you a little education as to how they work.
In 2002 that thing cost $1000. It was a P4 1.5GHz, 512MB crap RAM, cheasy 16MB Verto, and a 40GB WD. After just a day of looking through it, I knew the graphics card needed to be upped, and I needed more RAM.
Not to mention that there was a 4GB partition with restore crap on it... Yeah, makes them completley sure of thier products.
I had already spent my life savings on this POS. On top of that the hard drive died a year and a half later. Needless to say, I sold what I could, and made my own.

When you buy these well known products, you are only paying for the name, not the quality. Boo to all of them.
-Joe
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.