Boot Disk Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2004, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default Boot Disk Issue

Hey everyone. I just built myself a computer for the first time and I am having a problem booting it up. I can get into the BIOS just fine, but when i go to boot from my boot disk i get a recurring error. The screen prompts me to remove any disks or other media, and hit any key to continue. If I remove my boot disk, it prompts me to insert a valid boot disk into the A drive, but if I do that I get the same error as before, and it just goes in a circle. I have no idea what I can do to try to fix this problem. I downloaded the boot disk from bootdisk.com and it is for win98se. I am using a MSI 865PE mainboard if that helps out at all. Can anyone help me?
__________________

timmyg11086 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

What operating system are you trying to install? Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP?

Edit: Does your BIOS recognise your hard drive?
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 11:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

whoa a boot disk? I havent had to use one of those in forever....hell I don't even have a floppy drive =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 11:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Ok, I am having this same problem, and I was told to go to BIOS and switch the boot order thingy around.
This was the order it was booting at first:
1.floppy
2.CD/DVD drive
3.Hard Drive

Then I switched it to:
1.CD/DVD drive
2.floppy
3.Hard Drive

Of course, I still don't have my OS yet, so I cant really do much! =P
Regulus is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 01:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I just have mine set up at IDE-0 is the first boot device (thats the hard drive for anyone who happened to not know) just cause I don't want that extra 2 seconds it takes to search the floppy and cd-rom....I just go into the BIOS and change the sequence when I need to format
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 06:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

y dont u jus get ur os first and install it? or u testin ur configuration out b4 u buy the os?
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 11:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Who are you talking to? Me or timmy? I don't have my os yet, so...
Regulus is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 11:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

o lol theres 2 ppl i dunno if u dont have ur os then buy it and load it but if timmy does then i dont see y he dosent do dat
__________________

__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.