Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2008, 05:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter

I get this screen every time I boot up my computer without the Vista operating system disc in the drive. The system will boot up fine with the disc in the drive but it gets really annoying to have to keep this disc around, especially since I like to protect the disc as best I can. It's hard to keep scratches off of it when it has to be within arms reach all the time.
It started after I did a clean install, almost as if it's a security measure put in place by Microsoft to stop pirating of the OS by forcing you to keep the physical disc around. How do I either fix the problem if it's not by design, or circumvent the measure since it's wrong?
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 174
Default Re: Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter

Have you checked your BIOS settings to see whether it's trying to boot from the disc? If so try changing the boot sequence to the hard drive first.
__________________

__________________
Whoever appeals to the law against his fellow man is either a fool or a coward. Whoever cannot take care of himself without that law is both. For a wounded man shall say to his assailant, "If I Die, You are forgiven. If I Live, I will kill you." Such is the Rule of Honor.

Antec 1200 Case
Core i7 2.8 Ghz
6GB Corsair RAM
Nvidia GTX 285
22" Monitor
Direland is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 06:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter

The DVD drive was first priority, so I changed it to hard disk as first priority, but it didn't change anything. I still got the boot disk failure warning with the Vista disc out.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 06:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 174
Default Re: Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter

Hmm I thought that might happen. One other thing I can suggest is either do a system repair or do yet another clean install and see if you still have the problem.
__________________
Whoever appeals to the law against his fellow man is either a fool or a coward. Whoever cannot take care of himself without that law is both. For a wounded man shall say to his assailant, "If I Die, You are forgiven. If I Live, I will kill you." Such is the Rule of Honor.

Antec 1200 Case
Core i7 2.8 Ghz
6GB Corsair RAM
Nvidia GTX 285
22" Monitor
Direland is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 06:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter

probably the boot thing is gone or somehow but are you sure that the DVD is required to boot up vista? Normally there should be something like boot.ini or something similar (not sure in vista) and that tells where the location of your windows folder is in.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 07:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter

I don't understand what you mean by am I sure the disc is required... I know that right now the disc is required to boot up Vista in my computer's current state. I know that normally it isn't required.

Vista does not use boot.ini. The effect is achieved by using the boot tab in msconfig. The location of my Windows folder is correct...

I wish it would give me more detailed error messages rather than just DISK BOOT FAILURE.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter

I have the same exact problem. I can't boot w/ out the disk either no matter what I tried. I'm doing a clean install so hopefully this won't happen again
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 06:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter

May this be of some use to you

VistaBootPRO - Go PRO with Microsoft Windows Vista Boot Manager

Cheers,

~ Tkey
Yek is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 06:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter

@thirdshiftdj: Not really into a clean install. I have 200 GB worth of games installed and not really looking forward to installing them all again. It would literally take all day.

@Tkey: I'll give it a shot.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install xp without the xp cd. EricB Official TF Tutorials 45 03-07-2009 06:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.