boot disk creation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2004, 03:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default boot disk creation

I'm getting ready to build my first computer and was wondering about how I should go about creating a boot disk to boot my new computer. I have Windows XP and I have the feeling that the boot disk created is not enough to start a new computer. Any wisdom would be much appreciated.
__________________

TheCreator is offline  
Old 01-08-2004, 04:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

You could probably just use the xp cd itself to boot the new system up ..
Or else just follow Micro's instructions
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Default

if you have a legal copy of XP, then you shouldnt have any problems booting from CD. By the way dont forget to set up your bios to boot from CD
Jetta-GT- is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

When I did a repair on my new copy of XP (less than 2 months old), I had to use the six boot disks to get through it...Had a snafu trying to get past the Admin Password part. Found out it was a known issue with XP. Making 6 floppies was a pain in the butt, but the boot disks worked great to get through this.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.