Blue screen of death - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2007, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Blue screen of death

I can get my e6320 to run at 3.16 Ghz at cool temps with a voltage of 1.375. But when I try to go past it, I end up getting the blue screen of death after the vista welcome screen, and sometimes on the desktop. I put the voltage on 1.4, which solves most of this, but I do get the blue screen of death occasionally on the desktop.

It's running cool at 3.22, so I'm not sure if I should raise the voltage more (which was a friend recommendation), or stop. Any comments?
__________________

__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Blue screen of death

If it runs cool, then why not bump up the voltage. Just give it one more notch, and see if you get anymore BSODs. 1.4v is nothing.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Blue screen of death

I increased by one notch, and raised the clock to 3.26 Ghz. Things are still running stable and cool, but if I try to go anymore my comp crashes right after I leave the bios and I get an error saying that the overclock failed. Do you think this is because of my ram?
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Blue screen of death

You probably have to up the notch again, because when you get that high, it requires more power. I've experienced this. When I had mine overclocked to 3.3 and up, I had to keep upping the voltage. What's the timings and voltage of your ram? I've just noticed you got a real nice motherboard.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Blue screen of death

The timings on my ram are not too hot, I believe they are 5-5-5-15. The voltage on newegg is saying 1.8V-2.0V. If this ram isn't holding me back now, I'm pretty sure that at some point this is what will be stopping me from doing an even higher OC. So what do you think?
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Blue screen of death

You should probably bump up the voltage of the RAM. Most common voltage I see here on tech forums, for that set of RAM is 2.1-2.2V.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Blue screen of death

Nope, that did not seem to help at all.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Blue screen of death

Have you tried upping the VCore some more?...well just one notch.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Blue screen of death

Yup, that didn't seem to work either. Keep in mind, it crashes the instant I leave the bios. From what I experienced, voltage problems usually cause a crash while the OS is booting or soon after.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Blue screen of death

A common cause for BSODs are bad sticks of RAM. Have you ran memtest86, to test out your ram yet? What is you VCore currently at?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just re-hooked up my PC at new apartment, my Monitor is flickering to a Blue screen. King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-29-2007 02:19 AM
Got blue screen of death, went to restart and my hard drive was EMPTY LOL_NESS Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-23-2007 09:32 AM
Blue screen of death, hardware failure possible? Torlen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-07-2007 12:26 AM
Blue screen of death again! Rico1988x Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-30-2007 03:52 PM
Blue screen of death geekster Microsoft Windows and Software 9 04-12-2007 02:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.