blown psu - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 05:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

so should i plug the psu back in and try it without the scsi card? i am just nervous bout this because if the psu is messed up, i dont wanna mess anything else up
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Are there burn marks or anything on the PSU? Try it.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i dont see any burn marks on the psu.. the burn mark on the pci card is on the -12 volt pin
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

such a hard decision whether i wanna try it or not
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: blown psu

Quote:
Originally posted by jseber1982
then all of a sudden my pc turned off and i smelt some ozone lol.
I love that Fresh, Clean, Spring Rain Smell..... ahh.... Ozone
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

umm i see u have a very nice system there...unless u are rich and could just buy a new 1 i wouldnt try anything else.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

yea i just ordered a psu from xoxide
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 06:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

im sure the mobo is prolly fried too
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 06:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

So did u have anything oced?
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 07:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

nope. i hooked the water coolin system up. ran 3dmark o5 for a while, ran great, then the next day, decided to run the psu fan at half speed to cut noise. then after 30 mins, 3dmark ran crappy and then the pc shut off when i started a game. rebooted, smelt crappy ozone. then started it up and my scsi card died. no ocing. my one gfx cards temp sensors are screwed up now that i am water cooling. so i am wondering if that was one of the things that caused my psu to die.

darn lol i just retyped everything i have already posted.
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.