Biostar I45 - unable to O.C. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2008, 11:34 PM   #21 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Your temps are fine and go with +.25. While pushing the FSB to around 380~. Work your way up to 411 and see if you can get that stable. Once you get past 380~ though you should choose +.35. Since its going to require more voltage.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 11:36 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

I'm new to this too but from the research I have done and listen to others here your idle temps are just fine. That is my idle temps too, i have a q6600. As stated previous by BongWizard you need to be more concerned with your temps when under load. That is when it matters. Do a stress test. Some will tell you nothing over 65, some 75. I will leave that to the pros here to explain as I have no knowledge of what is safe.

If you go to O.N.E and scroll down to Voltage Configuration click 'enter' and then look at the bottom of that page you will see your RAM volts, cpu volts, etc. That is what they are currently running at. Adjust accordingly. So if your cpu volts are at 1.29 and you want it at say 1.34 then add .050 to it. Make sense?

Please wait for someone else to agree with me as I am not 100% on this. IMO you could leave it at AUTO until you start to do some real high OCing. If the PC isn't booting up on Auto then that is when it's time to start adding. Just remember though the more volts you add the hotter she'll run.
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 11:41 PM   #23 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

your base vcore is equal to your VID, which is 1.1V i believe if that screenie was right... your base MCH voltage is also 1.1V, and the JEDEC standard for DDR2 RAM is 1.8V

so you should try your vcore at +0.225 and the MCH should always be +0.1-0.2V to keep the FSB and RAM stable

Run a few loops of Intel Burn Test every time you change the voltage (like when you get to the OC you want and you're finding the best voltage for it) and make sure the temps dont go much above 70

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Hiding in your hole from your own shadow until spring?
lol! yeah... least i'll have time to find a better avvy by then! lol
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 03:04 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

I am so confused... I have disabled C1E and EIST(Speed step right?) in the bios but my coretemp and cpu-z values are WAY different.

cpu-z still has my core speed using a 6.0 multiplier and my vcore keeps fluctuating while coretemp sees it as 8.5 multiplier.

I even manually set my core voltage to +.025 instead of AUTO thinking that is the problem, but it is still fluctuating.


Help!
bigjared is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 03:42 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Obviously cpuz is not correct too. Do the math, you are not clocked at 2.2GHz
Chad711 is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 03:53 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Yea I am not really worried about the core speed problem, I am worried about the core voltage.


The CPU-Z number is fluctuating by as much as .05v and I have C1E AND Speedstep disabled AND the voltage to +.025 (Just trying to get it off of AUTO). So what is the deal?

I also am beginning to worry about my temps. I have a small over clock using +.025 vcore and 378 FSB giving me 3213mhz, but while running IntelBurnTest My temps are topping out at 63c. This makes be believe if I up the vcore my temps will be in the red zone.
bigjared is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 04:02 PM   #27 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

ya i could not figure out for the life of me how to turn off speedstep on my biostart p45 either!!!! it angered me.. i turned off everything i was supposed but still it was on!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 08:03 PM   #28 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Go into your CPU voltage options and set Vcore from auto to 1.1V.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 08:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

The problem is you can't do that on the I45.


The only options are +.025, +.05 ect ect, you can't set an exact number.

And we have both disabled C1E and Speedstep yet our CPUZ vcore fluxuates crazily.
bigjared is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 08:11 PM   #30 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

So set it close to it.... Itsd not rocket science... just over-clocking.

The very slight bounce is fine, 0.05v is little, now 0.50v is big.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got my Biostar I45 Squirtis Overclocking and Modding 4 11-17-2008 12:42 AM
BIOSTAR T-Series Question Sigma62 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-09-2008 05:58 PM
new rig, biostar i45, no post. Akubane Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 10-03-2008 02:59 PM
Asus 790GX vs. Biostar Tpower nForce 750a Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 33 09-16-2008 09:26 AM
My computer gets to the xp loading screen and restarts. tivaelydoc Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.