Biostar I45 - unable to O.C. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2008, 10:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Thanks for the reply Hussein.

The issue im having with cpu-z vcore is that my settings are still on auto so its changing all the time and I do not know my base vcore. The I45 is throwing me off because you can't set exact vcore numbers only +.025, +.05... from whatever the base is.... but how do I know my base when its changing all the time?
__________________

bigjared is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 10:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Your base is 1.10Vcore. Choose +.25 and see how if you are able to push your chip.

Since I don't know much about overclocking Intels. You should wait until some one like BongWizard or Zmatt see this thread.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 10:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Thank you again Hussien, I will wait.

However how do my temps look to you? idle at 40c and load at 50c without increasing Vcore.

I have a core contact freezer and TONS of airflow in my case.

Thanks
bigjared is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 10:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Quads have 4 Cores running so they will always run hotter then Duals. Which would explain the some what high idle temps.

So long as your exceeding 60c under full load then your fine.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 10:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

first up... you've got speedstep enabled, which is great if you wanna keep cool, but for benchmarking i always turn it off (disable C1E and EIST in the BIOS)... thats a wicked VID... you should be able to push that thing fairly high... you'll obviously need some more voltage to get higher tho, so try increasing it to 1.325-1.35V in the BIOS (it'll come out around 1.28-1.3V after droop)... also, you'll want to increase the voltage on the NB (to between 1.2 and 1.3V)... make sure you've got your RAM up to its rated voltage (on the sticker on the DIMM) as well

try just bumping up the FSB with 1.325V on the core and see how high you can get it (monitor the temps of course... i usually let it get up to 70C at full load)...

at high FSB and RAM clocks you might be able to stabilise it with a bit of clock skew (usually in Advanced Timings Controls)... if need be, try adding 100ps to the MCH and MAYBE 50ps to the CPU (only if the MCH skew doesnt stabilise it)

if you need any more help, you know where i am!!
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 10:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BongWizard View Post
if you need any more help, you know where i am!!
Hiding in your hole from your own shadow until spring?
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 10:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

that vid isn't correct. with speedstep on it throttles the VID, but I'm guessing its still a killer vid. If you disable all of that stuff it will pop up with your actual VID and then the .25v increase will be noticable.

also oc'ing AMD isn't too much different than Intel. The only difference is on AMD you drop the HTT bus and then bump it up. Intel you just raise the fsb
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 10:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BongWizard View Post
first up... you've got speedstep enabled, which is great if you wanna keep cool, but for benchmarking i always turn it off (disable C1E and EIST in the BIOS)... thats a wicked VID... you should be able to push that thing fairly high... you'll obviously need some more voltage to get higher tho, so try increasing it to 1.325-1.35V in the BIOS (it'll come out around 1.28-1.3V after droop)... also, you'll want to increase the voltage on the NB (to between 1.2 and 1.3V)... make sure you've got your RAM up to its rated voltage (on the sticker on the DIMM) as well

try just bumping up the FSB with 1.325V on the core and see how high you can get it (monitor the temps of course... i usually let it get up to 70C at full load)...

at high FSB and RAM clocks you might be able to stabilise it with a bit of clock skew (usually in Advanced Timings Controls)... if need be, try adding 100ps to the MCH and MAYBE 50ps to the CPU (only if the MCH skew doesnt stabilise it)

if you need any more help, you know where i am!!

Wow, Hussien was right to wait for you to post.

So my most basic question is do I KNOW that my base vcore is 1.100? And if so when u say to bump it up to 1.325 I would use +0.225 correct?

Same question for the NB, its on auto right now. How do I know my base voltage on it?


Would you suggest that I just dial in my ram for the rated voltage and timings and speed (taking it off auto completely)?

And finally should I take the vcore up to 1.325 right away and then just progressively increase the FSB while it stays stable? Or should I be slowly increasing the voltage as I go?

Thank you so much.


Oh, do my temps look ok to you?


(I feel like I had a pretty good baseline knowledge from doing research, but as this is my first O.C. I would love to just run all of this by you.)
bigjared is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 11:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Correct me if I am wrong, as I am learning too. But your default temps are listed under the Voltage Config you will see what the current temps of all settings are. adjust accordingly
Chad711 is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 11:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Biostar I45 - unable to O.C.

Chad I am a little confused by your post.


I am looking for base voltages so that I can apply the +.025 or whatever in my I45 MB (it does not let me set an exact number just + or -) and not temps?

I just wondered if my temps look okay for idle and the current voltage/frequency.
__________________

bigjared is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got my Biostar I45 Squirtis Overclocking and Modding 4 11-17-2008 12:42 AM
BIOSTAR T-Series Question Sigma62 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-09-2008 05:58 PM
new rig, biostar i45, no post. Akubane Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 10-03-2008 02:59 PM
Asus 790GX vs. Biostar Tpower nForce 750a Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 33 09-16-2008 09:26 AM
My computer gets to the xp loading screen and restarts. tivaelydoc Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.