Bios upgrade, or is it a downgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2006, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Bios upgrade, or is it a downgrade?

Ok I had gotten a Msi pm8m-v motherboard back in March because of its price and ratings. It is a pretty stable board but ever since I got it I have hated it for the bios options. It only lets me adjust the cpu speed by 10mhz intervals and no voltage settings. The ram settings lets me select automatic speeds and change the timings but there's only a 1:1 divider. There arent enough oc'ing settings to get high oc's. Now I wanted to upgrade my bios and I had installed the Msi Live Monitor. I decided to run it to see if there were any bios upgrades to "unlock" some more settings for my bios. Now when I look at it, it tells me my mobo is a MS-7104 (PM8M-V) with a current version of 3.40 and a update version of 3.40. Even though its the same the program says I need a bios upgrade. Now for fun I went to the website to look this up and the only bios versions they show are v2.3, v2.2, and v2.0. Here are my questions: Should I upgrade my bios to v3.4 from my v3.4 or are they the same thing and the program is wrong, Should I use one of the older bios on the site and see what happens, and why isnt the v3.4 on the MSI website?
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 05:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Bump
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 05:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

u could downgrade, but the mobo might say that the bios u are installing is older than the one you are trying to install. so just give it a shot with the one u think might do it

EDIT: go for v2.3, that is the newest one....so ittl be the best one, the bios on urs is for a different mobo

wow wtf? that was the link too, check it out here
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i had to check the pattern between 2.0, 2.2, and it weit 7104v20.zip, 7104v22, and i figured it out, and it is 7104v23....soooo here it is

what u do is extract that zip onto a floppy, and restart with the floppy in, and it will start the update.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Thank you so is this a different version and what is the chances of more oc'ing options?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Ok I tried it and it said it did some writing but didnt write over everything. The bios still reads v3.4 and the bios looks the same. Should I try it again just incase I did something wrong cause I was in a hurry.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.