BIOS lying to me? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2007, 10:35 PM   #31 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: BIOS lying to me?

I don't know if this holds true for all P35 boards, but my P35 DS3R had the RAM voltage defaulting to 1.8v when it's rated for 2.2. So if yours is rated for 2.1, that DS3L may be way undervolting your RAM. But wait for a second opinion on that because I don't own that board so I can't be 100% sure.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 10:37 PM   #32 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default Re: BIOS lying to me?

I'm heading to bed, going to retry this in the morning.
__________________

__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 10:39 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: BIOS lying to me?

Alright good luck. If I can think of anything that hasnt already been suggested, I'll post it here so you can try it tomorrow.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 10:43 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: BIOS lying to me?

That really sucks.

What power supply do you have.
Its possible something is wrong with your memory.

Google, download and burn to disk memtest86+ run if for a minimum of 4 hours on stock settings. Basically clear your CMOS and then run it.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 04:50 PM   #35 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default Re: BIOS lying to me?

Well i ran memtest for close to 6 hours, and there we no errors or hiccups reported. I'm using a NCIX.com - Buy Coolermaster Extreme Power 650W ATX 12V V2.01 Silent Power Supply 20/24PIN 120MM Fan - RP-650-PCAR In Canada.
__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 05:08 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: BIOS lying to me?

Well, Sorry that we cannot help you. I suggest RMAing the motherboard first.
Then if the problem still presists, the processor.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 05:16 PM   #37 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default Re: BIOS lying to me?

Alright =(

I appreciate the help all of you have given me. I think i'll just keep the parts, they work just fine other than the OCing issue, and i'll be updating my system in the next 2-3 years anyways.
__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 05:22 PM   #38 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: BIOS lying to me?

I would not keep those parts. There is definitly something wrong. You should at least be able to overclock the Q6600 to 3 Ghz On near defualt Vcore.
There is something very wrong, and I really do you suggest you start RMAing parts.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM
Bios Not Installed TheGlazer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 10-17-2007 11:37 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
Simple Laptop BIOS MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 4 06-16-2007 02:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.