Bios Flash?!?!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2006, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Exclamation Bios Flash?!?!?

Ok I just got a Msi Motherboard (PM8M-V) and it is pretty sweet. I also have a p4 2.8ghz northwood and 1gb of kingston valueram to go with it. People told me I could probably hit like 3.4ghz with this. I finally decided to look around bios for oc capability and there isnt much. Just a bunch of set numbers but I cant changed voltage and fsb. I looked around online and it seems that lower bios versions have this capability and my most recent one doesnt because they dont offer it anymore. So the question is can I downgrade my bios from 3.4 to 2.3 to possibly oc properly? Can anyone verify this?
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 06:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

You can downgrade your BIOS. But make sure that you have the correct version and follow instructions properly.

It's also advised that you have a backup of your current BIOS on floppy disk which you can use to re-write the BIOS in case the procedure fails.

BIOS upgrades can be risky. Many people have ended up with worthless motherboards because of a badly flashed BIOS...Though it tends to be due to incorrect versions, problems can occur even with correct versions.

Happened to me once. I tried to flash the BIOS CMOS with a new, compatible version. Died on me. Luckily my PC was still on Compaq support and they replaced the motherboard for free.

Also, new BIOS versions contain vital improvements and bug fixes. So downgrading for one feature may not be benifiting overall.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

yea, flashing the bios can be risky, you could try OC using a program in the OS instead, all tho its not as effective
harry18 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 07:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Clockgen?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 07:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

How do I find the PLL for clockgen, i am so dumb....
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.